The miracle of cryptocurrency: My fun moment

One of the greatest memories that sparkle smiles on my face whenever I think of it...


I didn't join the crypto space on time, even though I was surrounded by a lot of friends who were into it and always making noise about the gains and losses with tiring crypto slang. Gosh, I always got pissed off, especially when I saw a girl being bossy about crypto.

There was a particular season when I decided to give it a try because I was beginning to get tempted by all their screenshots of profits. I went and asked some of them in the WhatsApp group. All of them gave me advice, and at the end, they all concluded with, "Do your own research, and this is not financial advice." This must be the thing I hate most about crypto. Why would someone give advice and then trash it?

It was only Favour, a lady, who made fun of me with endless "DYOR" but gave me a coin to invest in. She assured me that it would turn out well.

I didn't have much then, but I was ready to take the bull by the horns, so I looked for someone to buy $5 worth of BNB and invested in the coin. I didn't know much about Binance then, so I used Trustwallet. I think it was a new coin or something like that. The coin was ELASTIC BNB.

image

I invested and refused to take my eyes off it. I checked it every now and then, but I got tired after a week of constant checking.

After a month or so, Favour messaged me to check my investment. I rushed quickly to my Trustwallet, used the DApp browser to open PancakeSwap, and behold, my $5 had turned into $37. I screamed so loud! I couldn't believe my eyes, and I told Favour that I wanted to withdraw. She replied, "I'd get angry at you if you withdraw this now." According to her, it was just the starting stage of the skyrocketing.

I don't know where she got the hardened mindset for crypto. I don't know how people can see huge profits and still not withdraw because they're sure of more. What if everything DIP down like water rushing from a tap?

Since she knew more than me, I obeyed her and kept watching my money grow. Gradually, it grew from $37 to $40, then $50, and when it reached $53, I had to withdraw it myself without her consent because I couldn't allow all that money to disappear while waiting for it to go up further.

image

I didn't let her know until her money, the same $5 she invested, reached $95. She came to tell me to withdraw because it was very okay to do so at the moment. When I told her I had already withdrawn at $53, she hissed.

Every time I remember that adventure, a smile spreads across my face. That was the moment I fully dived into crypto because I saw it, touched it, and believed in it.

Till today, I still smile remembering such, even though the money has been spent many years ago. Yes, I had pressing needs then, and the crypto money came as a miracle.

Thanks!

This is for the Hivenaija prompt;

We all have that one fond memory, that brings a smile to our face each time we remember it or at odd times. It may be of a person, an event or an occurrence in our lives.Tell us about it and why this memory is important to you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency