Self improvement and Connection

Source

Back then when we just got done with Uni and going into our service year for the national youth service corp, a friend of mine through his uncle was able to serve in a Federal government Parastatal as a corper. This is not an opportunity that is open to all but he was just really fortunate to have an uncle who is highly connected. Now his uncle's connection got him into the Federal Government parastatals but then his future with the establishment would be greatly determined by his intellectual prowess and thinking capacity.


Source

During the first month of being in the establishment he called me one evening, I could remember vividly going to the lawn tennis court at the Corpers I was residing to answer his call because that's the only place in the premises that has a strong network signal. He seemed unhappy from the tone of his voice and I was curious to know why. I asked him what's wrong and he said they just appointed their specific job roles and what is expected of them and he was made the account officer of the Government establishment. To me that is good news so I asked again, Why are you sad? because obviously he should celebrate. He said no its not worth celebrating and he's even thinking of going to turn down the position and ask them to assign him somewhere else that is related to economics or even if its messenger sef let them put him there but not Accounting.

I'm like what are you afraid of? he said, Ese you dun forget as Accounting be that year for school? how we struggled to barely pass? abeg I no fit disgrace myself o worse still there is no existing Account officer in the establishment, he continued and said, I will be the account officer and I don't think I can handle such pressure.

By this time I was already irritated and disappointed. Even me that doesn't know Jack in accounting can't loose guard like this. I called his name and said to him you will handle it because you don't have a choice. I continued and went further to say, you see that pressure? you go handle am even if it kills you, you will die trying. My response was quite shocking to him and he exclaimed ha! Ese that's extreme o and I responded yes! I am an extremist.

I responded to him again and said where is it heard of? that a graduate of Economics cannot navigate Accounting? something you were thought the basics up to your third year in the Uni? He was like Ese why you dey sound like this? even you, you nor struggle to pass am? you know am well well? I'm like I nor know accounting o infact I hate am sef but I will not forfeit a once in a life time opportunity because of my lapses and short comings in the course.

I went further to inform that the moment he goes to tell them that he cannot handle being their Account officer, they will kick him out of the Job.

I asked him, how do you want your uncle to take such embarassment? I continued and told him that since there is no Account officer and has never been one in the establishment based on the information he gave me, the chances of being retained kf he performed extremely well is high. He kept quiet for a while and said so what do you advice I do?


Source

I told him, you will go to work on Monday and resume your position as their Accountant, even if you don't know it, act like you know it. Whatever task they give you to execute, enter YouTube for a guide, get accounting text books and start studying the basics because your future is hanging on it. Get a friend that's good in Accounting, explain your plight and let them guide you with whatever you do not understand. At that moment he revealed to me that his sister is an Accounting guru and has lot's of accounting text books. I'm like oohh you even get sister wei sabi accounting nai you dey mumu? We both laughed and bid ourselves goodnight.

He went on to resume working and took my advice. After the service year like I had earlier foresaw, every corper was dismissed except him because his supervisor was really impressed with his work ethics that he put in good words for him to be retained and with the help of his uncle too, he was able to secure a 3 years contract working with the government establishment as their Account officer. When the contract was over, the Supervisor still wanted him to remain with the promise that if the establishment does not reinstate him, he will be paying my friend from pocket but his uncle already secured a permanent job for him at one of the leading oil firms in Lagos state so he relocated.

Today he's earning and doing very well for himself. One time on the phone, he said to me, remember when I almost ruined my life and you were there as my guide. I just smiled because it was 30% me and 70% him. While my advice served as the motivator, he was able to scale through because he wanted to succeed. Not everyone would take an advice no matter how good it is and not everyone is willing to accept responsibilities and put in the work, the sweat and blood because some people just want it easy. They will always shout connect but when that connect comes they are either uneducated, without a degree or not wanting to fit in for the position.

What you studied in school and the certificate awarded is a formality. The real test of knowledge is how well does your mind navigate and solve critical problems bordering different ramifications of life? Most students will see exam questions and shout they did not teach us o, the lecturer did not explain it well. We do not go to school to be spoon fed with knowledge, we go to school to sharpen and improve our thinking capacity.

Thank you for reading this far, your contributions will be highly appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency