Travel light diary...hivenaijaprompt #35

Travelling is a fun thing for some and a compulsory thing for others because of work demands. There are also several means of travelling to choose from such as air, road, water or train.

I dislike traveling by water and train, I'm yet to travel by air, so that leaves travelling by road. Travelling by road is quite tedious coupled with the harrasssment from the so called motor boys or garage louts. It's a norm in my city that after paying for your seat and getting your ticket, you have to settle those louts or they won't allow you travel with your load. I experienced this a lot while travelling with my family to the village for christmas.

When it got to the time when I could embark on interstate travels on my own, the past experience taught me to be a light traveller. No matter whether it's a long distance travel or a short distance one, I opt for travelling light.

I prefer short distance journeys, something of about a few hours, say roughly 6 to 8 hours. Any journey beyond this time frame and I would end up being cranky and frustrated. The deal is that I can't stand the fume emmiting from the bus plus sitting in a particular position for long hours makes me fell very fatigued.

I pack minimal clothes, that are necessary and suit the occassion as well as a moderate amount of undies. Let's say for a one week trip, I could pack three shirts and two skirts, preferably in colours black and brown or two jean trousers in colours blue and black, something to blend the shirts with. For under garments, I would pack four sets excluding the one on me. I don't carry much because I know I have the habit of washing my under garments immediately I take them off, which is before bathing in the morning. So I'm assured of a spare for the next day till I return to base.

I also take along a pair of black wedge sandals, a pair of flat sandals and my comfy rubber slippers which i wear for the journey itself. The slippers is multipurpose and thus it can serve me quite well.

When I'm travelling out of my city , I don't usually carry a luggage or a travelling bag, what I make use of is a medium size backpack that would be convenient to carry and still I'd still have my hands free. Moreover it's hassle free and i don't have to pay any dime to any lout because the backpack will be either on my lap or in front of my seat, right next to me.

The stress for me happens while I'm returning to base cos I would like to get some things for the relatives and friends I left behind. This would lead ne to buying bread, fruits, chips and some other gift items that would not fit into my bag. This then leads to me buying a nylon bag to put all the items I bought in. So now I have a back pack on my back and heavy nylon bags on my hands. Luckily, once I step into my city, the city of excellence, getting home with those loads is never a problem. All it would take is for me to hail a cab and it's straight up ease to my doorstep.

Thank you all for reading...shalom

Images used are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency