Going back in time.... hivenaija prompt#34

"Time waits for nobody" this is indeed a fact more than it is a cliche. I remember clearly how myself and other devotees went for cross over service and screamed happy new year but today's date is already 23rd of February.

"Time lost cannot be recovered", this is another truth that we all know, except you are a mutant with special abilities to manipulate time, then maybe you could time travel.

What day in the past month and half would you like to go back to, what day is that and why?

Frankly speaking, the past few days and weeks have been hellish that i would want to re-live if granted thw opportunity. Don't blame me, just look at what has been going on in the country lately.

First was the intense heat wave that led to severe heat exhaustion and. heat syncope. * It was like someone escaped from hell and forgot to shut the doors*.

Next came a sharp upward increase in food prices. Sometimes I wonder if I'm still a Nigerian. Does this sound like a rant...maybe, but this shows that I wouldn't want to go back to a few weeks ago.

If someone has said to me that I will be met with different expectations from what I had hoped for the year , I would have looked at them like they had two heads.

The day I would love to go back to is January 1st. Aside the fact that there was enough merry making, entertainment and enjoyment that day. I would like to return to that day (if possible) to strategize differently towards the year.

Now that I'm aware of what is coming, I mean increase in food cost, transportation cost and other necessities, going back to re-strategize would bail me out of this shocking present fate in the country.

I would even extend good will to my loved ones and all who care to listen about the impending doom that awaits everyone in the coming months.

I also want to feel weightless, which was what I felt on that particular day. Maybe this was as a result of the immense joy felt at being alive in the new year or from from the numerous gifts (showers of blessing), that I received from family, friends and others or the excess food available, whichever it is, I just want to ho back to that day only.

There was no thought of doom or expectation of deterioration of the economy, that day. It was joy, joy and more joy as food and drinks flowed freely and good wishes passed from lip to lip just like sweet wine. There was no thought of foreboarding as citizens were all happy, doing what makes them happy.

Children smiled recklessly, without a care in the world as they gallivanted in their new wears. Adults did more or less the same thing inly they spiced things up with firecrackers all around.

It was simply a glorious day

Thank you all for reading..shalom

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency