Daddy oh daddy. Hivenaija prompt #19.

Hello friends,you are welcome to my blog.

It was a busy day as usual, typical of all Mondays. I had just snuck out of the office for a quick reprieve, "why can't these customers take a hint and give us a break" I thought.

The rumbling of my stomach and intestines jolted me to a new issue..my stomach infrastructure needs me. While I was heading out to feed my minions, a call came in on my phone. Glancing at the unkown caller ID, I was reluctant to pick up the call. "This could Mrs Chibuzor again trying to find out if her documents were ready" she has been calling ceaselessly for the past 5 hours, I won't pick up this call cos I don't want to deal with her rantings" I said to myself and headed to the cafeteria for lunch.

I went back to work to pick up where I left off when Janet my colleague, came to tell me that my mum had called the office line while I was out at lunch. I could swear I heard my heart beat increase ten paces faster than usual. I fished out my phone from my bag. I thanked Janet and checked my call log to see my mum's 12 missed calls.

" Oh no, how did this happen?" I thought but then it came to me that I had put my phone on silent mode, I let out an exasperated breath and placed a call to my mum all the while hoping that there was no emergency at home. She picked on the fourth ring...... *"hello dear, why were you ignoring my calls?" She spoke immediately. "Good afternoon mum, sorry about that, I didn't mean to, my phone was on silent mode. Mum hope no problem" *

"None dear, I just wanted to tell you something, listen carefully and try to stay calm

"Ok mum, I am all ears " I replied as I shut down my laptop and got comfortable.

Ehm...you see the thing is someone wants to meet you" she said. "Meet me, what for mum?"

Your thirtieth birthday is coming up on December 26th, this person wants to me with you and celebrate with you as well"

"Oh mum, don't tell me you've set up a blind date with a mystery guy for me on my birthday?" I replied jokingly...

*"No dear, like I said this person wants to meet and talk with you, please dear hear him out and let me know your decision. For some reason, I thought my mum sounded wierd.

"ok mummy, I have heard you and I will do as you have said...are you happy now? a chuckle on the other end of rhe line set my weary heart at peace. I disconnected the call and instantly got a notification on my phone. I clicked the message to see that it was from my mum. She sent a phone number and a name Elon, hmm, what a wierd name, I thought and set the phone aside to continue wirh work.

At about 4:30pm, my phone rang and behold it was the phone number that mum had sent to me earlier. Bracing myself, I picked up the call..."hello, if my mum told you that I needed a boyfriend, sorry to burst your bubbles, I don't" I rapped into the phone.

The caller chuckled and said I don't need a girlfriend either. I only want to talk to you, can we meet up at crossroad cafe by 5:10pm?

"Oh wow you even know the time I close from work, alright, I'll be there" I replied, that earned me another chuckle "see you then" and with that he disconnected the call.

I arrived at the cafe on time and was about to call the mystery guy, when a man clad in black suit, came up to me and said "Miss, the Boss is waiting for you, please come with me. I would have retorted sharply but I thought better against it and just followed his leading.

He took me to a private room, opened the door for me to go in. I was skeptical but I wanted to get this over with, so I drew in a sharp breath and walked in confidently to face mr mystery.

"I must be in the wrong place" I said out loud cos sitting right at the table was Elon Musk in the flesh. Seeing my shock, he stood up, walked up to me but my feet refused to move from their spot. He came up to me and extended his hand for a hanshake. I shook his hand still with a flabbergasted look on my face. "Don't worry all your questions will be answered, just have a seat" he said. I walked like a zombie to the seat opposite his and sat down.

"Why are you here...? "I mean why am I here" I blurted out. He rewarded me with a chuckle and replied you are here because you need to know the truth. Your mum and I dated while in college and when she left for Nigeria, I had no knowledge of her pregnancy. We lost contacts and only reconnected a year ago and that was when she spilled the beans on me, that I have a daughter which happens to be you"

"Hahaha this must be a halloween prank right" I asked laughing ,since today is October 30. His stoic expression paused my laughter. "You can call your mum to confirm, all I want is to get to know you and bond with you, if you'll let me. He said. I picked up the phone and dialed mum's line to cinfirm all he said. She replied with the same story like they were planned alibi's but i knew my mum wouldn't lie to me and so I accepted the hard truth.

"I know that this must be shocking to you right now but I'll wait for you to accept me. You can ask me anything and I would do my best to make it happen, let me be a dad to you please"......he said to me with a look of utmost sincerity.

I felt it when he looked at me, that connection like a thread pulling me towards his embrace. "I had nothing to lose by acceping him" I thought, moreover Becky Musk has a nice ring to it. I smiled, cleared my throat and replied "let's spend my birthday with you abroad for starters".

He smiled "I thought you wouldn't ask. Don't worry from here on you are now a princess and I will make sure the whole world knows this" he replied.....

Thanks for reading....shalom

Image 1

Image 2

Leaving people better than you met them is living.......Becky
🤗
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency