Checking In!

20211007_031030.jpg

I get up at seven, yeah
And I go to work at nine
I got no time for livin'
Yes, I'm workin' all the time...
~Rush

Hey Guys!

I wanted to do a quick short post and one, apologize for not posting much lately, and two, let you know what I have been up to. So first, I am sorry! I know everyone waits on pins and needles to see what I have to say... Yeah right... Second, what I have been up to, my wife, @QueenBee1977 runs a small cleaning company, "Queen Bee Cleaning," and recently, she picked up a commercial account. This account, on top of move-out and emergency cleanings, includes painting and deep-cleaning the interiors of homes when renters vacate them. Well, at this point in our business dealings, we have to get workman's comp insurance before we can hire employees technically, so for now, I am the employee!

Moving Forward...

Currently, we have one job paying out on this round of invoices and will have three on the next round in two weeks. The jobs pay pretty well, but adjusting to bi-weekly payouts has been a little stressful. With normal residential cleanings, we get paid right when the job is complete so we had to adjust our bill payments, and budgeting, but once we get going things will be easier. It could be worse and be monthly payouts! Luckily, we still have all our regular residential clients, but unfortunately, my wife does them all by herself currently. Our plan is to be able to hire employees before the beginning of the new tax year. That way, we are starting with a fresh system, and we will be able to scale up for more commercial contracts, and my poor wife will be able to move into the managing aspect of running her company, versus working her butt off every day!

Long Term...

When we started my wife's business, it was more out of necessity than desire. When Covid started my wife and I both worked at a local community college, and I realized that there was a chance that we might not get called back. We started talking and decided to start a cleaning company. My Dad had run one when I was younger and had done quite well with it. I knew the start-up costs were not significant, but we needed a name! Well, my wife had bought me a honeybee hive for my birthday two years ago, after learning it was something I had always wanted to do, so jokingly, I said "Queen Bee Cleaning," and she liked it, so that was what we went with. I had a friend that is a professional graphic designer design us a logo, then started a website. We invested in work T-Shirts, and nice embroidered polo shirts, and a shell jacket to go to initial bids in. I even got the logo trademarked! It turns out my wife did not get called back to work, and honestly, she wouldn't have gone back anyway, that is how well her company is doing! In the long term, we plan to grow the company and hopefully, sell it and all the intellectual property in the future to support our retirement.

122593415_165873491847591_847259947805345981_n.jpg
Nancy in her bid shirt...

So...

There you have it, the reason I have not been posting much, and also what I have been up to in my life, both in one short post! For sure, I have been logging into the #HiveGames that I play every day, and that #SplinterLands airdrop is treating me decent, but I am an old man, and painting for six or seven hours a day is about enough to kill me nowadays, and those long days turn into bedtime quick. Just kidding... Kind of... Really, I have just been busy with everything going on, and haven't had much to write about other than work, cause that is all I have been doing! I do have some things coming up that will be post-worthy, but you will have to wait and see what they are...

As Always... Thanks For Reading!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now