Recovery - What is this a cult?!? All those sayings and slogans...

jon-tyson-MQm1JPi0kVA-unsplash.jpg

Something that used to bother me

When I was first introduced to the recovery community, one of the things that really bothered me was all the sayings and slogans that people would repeat in unison. Saying the Serenity Prayer, and holding hands at the end of meetings to say the Lord's Prayer just really rubbed me the wrong way. It came off as really "cultish" to me. Now, as I have gotten older, I see them for what they are, valuable sayings that can be used in times of crisis to help a person remember why they are here, and why they are in recovery.

So many to choose from, and all of them worthy...

Below, I have attached a collage of recovery sayings to give you an example of the various slogans we have in the community. Some of them may sounds dumb to you, and some may not apply, but I promise you that all of them have some bearing on staying clean and sober. So why not take a look and like all things in recovery, if it applies, use it, if it doesn't apply, let it fly.

42-favorite-recovery-slogans.jpg

May you have success in your recovery journey!

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center