A must in my routine [En-Es]


A couple of years ago, when I started having a lot of problems with dermatitis, I was looking all over for a dermatologist to help me with this situation. At first the medications took care of keeping the breakouts under control, but when they were over, and I was left with just the skincare routine it was a matter of time before the breakouts would return, at the time I didn't know that I was skipping one of the most important steps of any skincare routine.


Baje para ver la versión en español o haga clic - AQUÍ -


It wasn't until I got to a dermatologist that I desperately explained my situation and asked him to send me a different treatment or products, because when you finish the medicine the problems start again. The doctor very rightly asked me which products I had included in my routine, I proudly mentioned my dermatological cleanser and moisturizer, to which his answer was simply "and the sunscreen?", at that moment my brain went into short circuit, why did I need sunscreen if I did not go to the beach, in fact I hardly went out of the house?

Very kindly the dermatologist explained to me that the sun is an aggressor agent of the skin and that when there is a tendency to develop any type of skin condition, like my dermatitis, exposing myself to the sun, even if it was only for a few seconds or even through a window, could trigger an unfavorable reaction and make my skin react with more outbreaks. But not only that, he also explained to me that any unprotected exposure to the sun makes us vulnerable to premature aging and opens the possibility of developing skin cancer.

Honestly, at the time I dismissed him as crazy and exaggerated, but I decided to try his recommendation, what could I lose? I asked him to recommend affordable sunscreens, because the ones I had seen were very expensive and a bit out of my reach, he didn't like this very much, but in the end he mentioned Nivea, I looked for the one that best suited my pocket, which turned out to be a children's one for body and face, and although later I tried some specifically for the face, I still use that same sunscreen because it has given me very good results, plus I have the possibility of using it also with my son.

At the beginning I was a little skeptical, yes, the dermatitis had calmed down, although that could also be because of the cortisone I was applying, once the treatment with that medicine was over I continued with my skincare routine, now with sunscreen included. I can't tell you how much I regret not having added that step before, it made absolutely all the difference, I don't know what it has, or what it influences, but since I incorporated it I haven't had a breakout like before, in fact I can tell you that once I forgot to apply it and after exposing myself to the sun I started to feel again that itching previous to the breakouts, that was the last time I went without applying it in the mornings.



Recommended amount for the face


The only thing that sometimes fails me is reapplying it every three hours, but since I no longer go out without a hat or something to cover my face from the sun, it doesn't affect me too much in terms of dermatitis. Despite that, I've been taking this issue a lot more seriously in recent weeks and taking precautions to make sure I don't forget to touch up, including setting an alarm that goes off every three hours. And yes, I've reached the point where, even if I'm indoors, I apply it and touch it up because, although it may not seem like it, the rays that filter through the windows also affect it, so until the sun goes down I don't stop reapplying it.

And if this seems exaggerated, there are those who say that we should even protect ourselves from blue light radiation emitted by electronic devices, but according to my dermatologist these are really insignificant compared to the sun's rays, so he left it to my discretion and I chose not to give importance to blue light, at least for the moment, we'll see if later I dare to apply it all day long.

Although I am not a dermatologist, I speak from my experience and taking into account the recommendation of my doctor, never skip the application (and reapplication) of sunscreen, even if you are not going to leave the house or the day is cloudy, our skin always receives the sun's rays, even if we think we do not. It is even more important to apply it if you have any skin condition, not only for dermatitis like mine, but also for acne, blemishes or simply if you want to avoid signs of premature aging. It is the most important step in any skincare routine, no matter how simple.

Finally, always consult your dermatologist if you have any skin irregularities, sometimes we tend to ignore it, but the reality is that it is just another organ of our body, and we must also take proper care of it.


Lo que no puede faltar en mi rutina

Hace un par de años cuando comencé a tener muchos problemas con la dermatitis, estuve buscando por todos lados un dermatólogo que me ayudara con esta situación. Al principio los medicamentos se encargaban de mantener los brotes bajo control, pero cuando estos terminaban y me quedaba solo con la rutina de skincare era cuestión de tiempo para que los brotes regresaran, en ese entonces yo no sabía que me estaba saltando uno de los pasos más importantes de cualquier rutina de cuidado de la piel.

No fue hasta que llegué con un dermatólogo al que desesperada le expliqué mi situación y le pedí que me enviara un tratamiento o unos productos diferentes, ya que cuando te terminaba la medicina comenzaban de nuevo los problemas. El doctor muy acertadamente me preguntó cuáles eran los productos que tenía incluidos en mi rutina, yo le mencioné muy orgullosa mi limpiador e hidratante dermatológicos, a los que su respuesta simplemente fue “¿y el protector solar?”, en ese momento mi cerebro entró como en cortocircuito, ¿para qué necesitaba yo protector solar si yo no iba a la playa, es más casi ni salía de la casa?

Muy amablemente el dermatólogo me explicó que el sol es un agente agresor de la piel y que cuando hay tendencia a desarrollar cualquier tipo de afección de la piel, como mi dermatitis, exponerse al sol, aunque fuera solo unos segundos o incluso a través de una ventana, podría detonar una reacción desfavorable y hacer que mi piel reaccionara con más brotes. Pero no solo eso, también me explicó que cualquier exposición sin protección al sol nos hace vulnerables a envejecimiento prematuro y abre la posibilidad de desarrollar cáncer de piel.

Honestamente, en ese momento lo tiré de loco y exagerado, pero decidí probar su recomendación, ¿Qué podía perder?, le pedí que me recomendara protectores accesibles, porque los que había visto eran muy costosos y estaban un poco fuera de mi alcance, esto no le gustó mucho, pero al final me mencionó los de Nivea, busqué el que mejor se adecuaba a mi bolsillo, el cual resultó ser uno infantil para cuerpo y rostro, y aunque después probé unos específicamente para el rostro, sigo con ese mismo protector porque me ha dado muy buenos resultados, además de que tengo la posibilidad de usarlo también con mi hijo

Al principio estaba algo escéptica, sí, la dermatitis se había calmado, aunque eso también podía ser por la cortisona que me estaba aplicando, una vez terminado el tratamiento con esa medicina continué solamente con mi rutina de skincare, ahora con protector solar incluido. No puedo explicarles lo mucho que me arrepiento de no haber agregado ese paso antes, hizo absolutamente toda la diferencia, no sé qué tiene, ni en qué influye, pero desde que lo incorporé no he vuelto a tener un brote como los de antes, de hecho les puedo contar que una vez olvidé aplicármelo y después de exponerme al sol empecé a sentir de nuevo esa comezón previa a los brotes, esa fue la última vez que pasé sin aplicarlo por las mañanas.



Cantidad recomendada para el rostro


Lo único que a veces me falla es reaplicarlo cada tres horas, pero como ya no salgo sin gorra o algo para cubrir mi rostro del sol, no me afecta demasiado en cuestión de dermatitis. A pesar de eso, en estas últimas semanas me he tomado bastante más en serio este asunto y tomo mis precauciones para que no se me olvide retocar, incluso he puesto una alarma que suena cada tres horas. Y sí, he llegado al punto en el que, aunque esté dentro de casa, lo aplico y lo retoco porque, aunque pareciera que no, los rayos que se filtran por las ventanas también afectan, así que hasta que no se oculta el sol no dejo de reaplicarlo.

Y si esto les parece exagerado, hay quienes dicen que incluso debemos protegernos de las radiaciones de luz azul que emiten los aparatos electrónicos, pero según mi dermatólogo estas son realmente insignificantes comparadas con la de los rayos del sol, así que lo dejó a mi criterio y yo elegí no darle importancia a la luz azul, por lo menos por el momento, ya veremos si más adelante me animo a aplicarlo durante todo el día.

Si bien yo no soy dermatóloga, les hablo desde mi experiencia y tomando en cuenta la recomendación de mi doctor, nunca se salten la aplicación (y reaplicación) del protector solar, por más que no vayan a salir de casa o el día esté nublado, nuestra piel siempre recibe los rayos del sol, aunque pensemos que no. Es aún más importante que lo apliquen si tienen alguna afección de la piel, no solo para casos de dermatitis como el mío, sino también de acné, manchas o simplemente si quieren evitar señales de envejecimiento prematuro. Es el paso más importante en cualquier rutina de skincare por más sencilla que sea.

Por último, siempre consulten a su dermatólogo si tienen alguna irregularidad en la piel, a veces tendemos a ignorarla, pero la realidad es que es un órgano más de nuestro cuerpo y también debemos cuidarla adecuadamente.


Thank you very much for reading me, see you in the comments

Muchas gracias por leerme, nos vemos en los comentarios


firmaskin.png

Pictures taken by me - Cover and banner made in Canva - Cartoons made in bitmoji.
Fotos tomadas por mí - Portada y banner hechos en Canva - Caricaturas hechas en bitmoji.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments