Future Time Is Distant Until It Catches Up to You

Distant_Header.JPG

I was in a room on Clubhouse recently listening to others speaking. One of the speakers grabbed my attention, not for her thoughts on the topic but her assumptions on life. “I’m 30 and have lived half my life” was her comment.

Having surpassed the age of 60 I must say the idea of having lived beyond my due date was a bit of a surprise.

Then I took a breath and thought back to when I was 30. Yes, 60 years of age at that point seemed like a distant point that I’d have to be really old to reach. As that gap closed, I kept moving the concept of ‘really old’ further out.

Currently I have it around 120. I would have said 100, but my uncle claims people of that age are not old, they are senior-seniors.

It’s funny how we perceive time frames to be distant when we know they are going to come charging right up at us. How many times has December 31st seemed to be distant from January 1st, yet, it’s suddenly upon us?

I talked the other day in another room about how I don’t set goals as much as I set intentions of what I want to do. Goals imply deadlines that have to be put out at some distance to allow time to reach. Often when setting goals the multitude of steps to get there become lost

The other problem with a deadline is I then figure I have more time than I do to meet the deadline. When I set intentions and then take note of the steps to work toward the intention, then it becomes a progressive process instead of an arbitrary deadline.

It was interesting listening to someone else in the same room come on mic and start out that she’s all about goals and considers them to be very important. As she talked about goals I found her also talking about how sometimes she feels constrained by goals and prefers to go with intentions.

Seems like the goals mindset added some stress?

Like people being pushed to choose a niche to create in, I often find so called coaches and experts pushing people about goals. I think both puts unnecessary stress on people. I know, some people want to feel that stress to motivate themself. Great, go for it.

I can find enough things creating stress I don’t want, I’m not going to set myself up for more. Thank you muchly.

OH and I’m not making any predictions about the length of my life.

Hive_Badges_April_22.JPG

Shadowspub is a writer from Ontario, Canada. She writes on a variety of subjects as she pursues her passion for learning. She also writes on other platforms and enjoys creating books you use like journals, notebooks, coloring books etc.

NOTE: unless otherwise stated, all images are the author’s

hobodiv.jpg

Would you like to receive writing prompts regularly?

You can subscribe to Prompt A Day to get started.

Share your posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency