Thinkers Corner; A little bit of restraint... A worthy sacrifice.

jeshoots-com-mSESwdMZr-A-unsplash.jpg

History is a very big teacher and one of the things I've learned by being well-informed about history is that every country has things to be ashamed of. However, when we start talking of things to be proud of, there are a lot of countries that do not have anything to be proud of.

Trust me, I'm not going to start casting stones at other countries. I already know how things are in my own part of the world and I've always said that if the opportunity shows itself, one of the things I will do is to relocate from here and move to another part of the world.

One of the driving forces for that is my desire to hit really huge success. I crave opportunities and I also want to be able to experience living in a place where there is better security and standard of living. Getting all these in my current financial status doesn't exactly seem like something easily achievable if I'm in my Country.

However, what if I have all the resources I have? What if money is the least of my worries? Would I be okay with a permanent relocation to a different part of the world?

This looks like a very easy no-brainer. Most people would choose to bid their farewell to this country and move to a different part of the world where they can enjoy what life has to offer. That seems like the obvious thing to do.

In my case, even though I've always wanted to experience international traveling and I've always wanted to live amid people from a different part of the world, if money is no longer a problem for me, one of the things I will likely do is to try and make a change in my country. I will try to use the unlimited resources I have to positively make this country a place where people would be proud to call Home again.

You know, I'm always of the opinion that with great power comes great responsibility. I'm not particularly patriotic towards Nigeria. I don't even love the country. However, I have a very special liking for Nigerians and I know our existential challenges as people from this part of the world keep us very occupied with a lot of problems, it's always hard for us to look beyond our challenges to see what others are going through.

We are capable of being caring, showing kindness, and extending helping hands to others. Even though our country does not have a lot of inspiring things, we still do our best to survive and thrive. After seeing all that resilience that's consistently displayed by the people, I wouldn't want to use my "unlimited resources" just for my own good. I will surely try to make life bearable for those around me and hopefully for the Citizens.

Does it mean that I won't expose myself to the pleasure of traveling the world? No! I will still get into that adventure. However, with each moment I step out of the country, I will always step out with the intention of getting back home after each journey.

So, in line with the writing topic in this week's edition of The Thinker's Corner Challenge, permanently relocating from my Country to another part of the world is something that looks really appealing which I wouldn't want to do when I have all the financial resources I need.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency