Turning My World Upside-Down. A tragic tale.

img_0.47238579923262086.jpg

Float-On
Small Orange Divider.png
Strange things can happen in the dark. I shot this simple 180 rotation at Hound Tor on Dartmoor in April 2021with Phill Fisher doing socially distanced silhouette duties. It was really only a test to see if my camera was still working as 20 mins earlier I had been working on a 3 way rotation shot with phill standing in a crack between the rocks. After trying several variations of the shot I decided that it wasn't working for me so I went onto try a composition I had seen earlier, as we walked up to the Tor. I took the tripod with my Sony A7ii and a Canon 17-40 f4 Lens on to the spot that I wanted to shoot from and went back to get my lights. When I came back to the camera it had fallen over and the front of the lens had broken off, the L-bracket screw had sheared off and the lens mount on the camera body was now wobbly. I could have cried, but these things happen and so the first thing I did was to try another shot. Hope it ddoesn't cost too much to fix. Still had an epic night with lots of laughs. Divider 5.png
img_0.37020652053783953.jpg
Hidden Gem
Small Orange Divider.png
Found this rare species hidden in a derelict barn on the north coast of Devon.
Divider 5.png
Alright In The End

After returning from the trip I regrettably found out that my Sony A7ii wasn't covered by the insurance policy if I took it off my property! So I had to use my biggest puppy dog eyes and whimpers to convince my wife to let me buy another camera, I think she just wanted me to stop making the crying noises! Just a nod from the missus and I excitedly jumped on-line to purchase my 1st ever NEW camera (all others before had been used) a Sony A7iii. I'll be paying it off for the next 3 years, but nay worries.
As for the damaged Sony A7ii, I ended up purchasing a Tough E-Mount from Fotodiox which has totally fixed it. So now I have 2 cameras.

Divider 5.png

WHAT IS LIGHTPAINTING?
Lightpainting is a photographic technique in which exposures are made by moving a hand-held light source while taking a long exposure photograph, either to illuminate a subject or to shine a point of light directly at the camera, or by moving the camera itself during exposure. Nothing is added or removed in post processing.
Small Orange Divider.png
Single exposure Light Art Photography /nolayer /notricks /nophotoshop
Divider 5.png
YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE LIGHTPAINTING HERE?
Give the Lightpainters United Community a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.
Lightpainter United Banner.png
You will find innovative and original light painting from various artists from all over the world. Have a look at the profiles of some very active Lightpainter in the group: Mafu Fuma - Oddballgraphics - Fade to Black - DAWN - Chris Thompson - Mart Barras - Stefan Stepke - Nikolay Trebukhin - Leetodd - Stabeu Light - Maxime Pateau - Stephen Sampson - lightandlense - Neil Rushby Divider 1.png
WOULD YOU LIKE TO GET IN CONTACT WITH US?
Join us at Discord Divider 5.png
Thank U for your support and keep shining!
LIGHT, LOVE & UNITY!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center