HOW TO REPLACE A SPOILT SLIPPERS UPPER WITH A NEW ONE

HELLO HIVE

I Hope this meet you well and in good faith, today I'll love to show you how I change the upper of a Slippers of a client that got damage, and instead of throwing it away, he brought it to me for replacement of a new upper.
photoCollageMaker_20220407_182637260.jpg
The initiative material use for the upper that got spoilt was rubber and I believe this is one of the main reason it got thorn easily, so I'll be taking your through the process of how I removed and replace it with a new upper material and a logo design.

MATERIAL USED

  • Leather material
  • BB Logo
  • Linning
  • Super Glue
  • Gum
  • Brown thread

MAKING PROCESS

  • Since it's only the upper of the slippers that got spoilt, that mean I'll still be using the old sole, so with that In mind, I cut out the former upper.

  • Then I placed the former upper on a leather material to cut out the same shape and size for the new upper, after which I place the new upper on a linning material to cut out the same shape as well.

  • Once that was joined together by applying gum on both back part and placing on each other, I attached the BB Logo on the upper.

  • Once the logo was firmly attached to the upper, I sew around the upper with my sewing machine so it could stick together firmly and as well look attractive.

  • Getting to stay it all up gradually, I grind the edges of the upper with a grinder, and the apply gum on it both edge's, after which I apply gum and supper glue on the edge of the sole where the upper will be attached, then I let it dry off for few seconds.

  • Finally I join both the upper and the sole together and tested the shape out with a shoe last.

  • Here is how our slippers now looks like after all process as been accomplished.

IMG_20220401_163720.jpg

IMG_20220401_163655.jpg

If the above procedure, are thoroughly followed, I believe you should be able to replace your spoilt slippers upper when ever you feel like without having to spend much in taking it to a cobbler.


Thanks for checking out my blog post, if you want to know who @vickoly is😉, I'm a shoemaker, who is also into fashion designing and other related craft, to know more about me you can check out my Introduction post on hive, thanks once again, have a blessed and productive day ahead 🥰🥰.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency