A Child's Priceless Reaction

"Toys are children's words and play is their language."

-Garry L. Landreth

One of the best things to behold is looking at a child, playing and enjoying his or her toys.

IMG_20230811_155208.jpg

Meet Branting. He is my godchild. I have been babysitting him since he was three months old. I know when he's okay or not feeling well. I know what he likes and what he hates. I know how to put him to sleep when he is in the house. With him, I feel like I have become a good second parent by looking after him and providing for his needs like milk. Yeah, I voluntarily buy him milk.

PicsArt_08-11-03.52.59.jpg

One of the toys he is obsessed with is cars. His parents have bought him cars and trucks of all kinds and different sizes. When he sees them, he giggles and an unexplainable happiness is drawn on his innocent face.

When my sister was about to go home from abroad, when asked what he wants to have as pasalubong, Branting would always say, "I want a car. A BIG car."

PicsArt_08-11-03.36.06.jpg

True enough, my sister bought him a car. A BIG car that he wants. It was more affordable there compared to the range of prices we have here. She bought it months before coming home and have it as a package transported through cargo.

When my sister told me to give the car, I, too, was thrilled about what could be Branting's reaction. He is good at exaggerating things like when he says WOW. He utters it with his eyes widely opened, his palms near his mouth, and a light face bearing his cutest smile. It was with him I've heard the longest and the most exaggerated WOW! Exaggerated yet the sincerest.

A CHILD'S GENUINE HAPPINESS

I told him he has a gift. I asked him to go with me as I get the car in my sister's room. He was giggling and jumping as we went to the room. I told him to stop by the door and when I showed him the car, he was truly amazed, and once again, he uttered his one-of-a-kind WOW!

PicsArt_08-11-03.33.57.jpg

IMG_20230811_150415.jpg

He hurriedly got it in my hand and brought the car out. He was shouting with joy. He kept calling his Mama and Papa, his Nanay and Tatay (my parents), and showing them his BIG car with his ear-to-ear smile.

I took a photo of him with his car and he was all smiles and kept clapping his hand while saying, "Yeeeeeyyyyy!!!"

PicsArt_08-11-03.33.44.jpg
After a while, he examined the car. I could hear him saying, "What a big red car!" In a second, he was looking at the front parts of the toy and then the next minute, he would look at what's in the bottom of it. He opened its doors, left and right. He even opened its compartment in the back. He even hugged the toy and would never let go of it.

PicsArt_08-11-03.34.24.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.34.53.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.34.40.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.35.52.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.36.41.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.36.22.jpg

Days and weeks after, he still showed the same affection for the toy. When it got dirty, he would wipe it or even ask his papa to take the dirt from it. He even became territorial with it. He doesn't allow someone to touch his car except for his trusted ones. He sleeps with it. He wakes up looking for it. At a young age, he already knows how to take care of and value his toys.

PicsArt_08-11-03.38.41.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.37.06.jpg

PicsArt_08-11-03.37.45.jpg

WE CAN BE LIKE BRANTING.

Seeing how happy Branting is with his new toy melted my heart. The happiness was so pure and genuine. He kept saying thank you. He couldn't seem to get over the excitement and joy of having his new toy. The reaction was priceless. I wonder what the world could be if we will live just like this kid - free, happy, and grateful for the gift he received. In our world today where everything seems fleeting, may we be like Branting who knows how to value things and people around him.

PicsArt_08-11-03.35.06.jpg

This is all for today's blog. Thank you for your constant and unwavering support. Be well. Be safe. Until the netswriting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center