Friendship That Turned Into Family

F055658A-F4C2-4CD3-842F-38E96F3CE15C.jpeg

They said that one of the greatest treasures in life is true friends. Being with the people whom you trust is indeed priceless. Come join me today as I reunite with my friends whom I have known for over ten years already. We got invited to our friend’s daughter’s baptism and we were all chosen to be godparents.

As soon as we got off the bus, my friend fetched us, and we rode their car to our other friend’s house who hosted the celebration. It was a thirty-minute drive from Bogo City.

97A87504-F1A5-4793-823F-7A58B798536D.jpeg

We arrived there late. The baptism at the church was already finished so we directly went to my friend’s house. We could really rely on each other in all aspects except for being able to come on time on the agreed meet-up time. We are all Filipinos. We all know the “Filipino Time”. When we say let us meet up at seven-thirty, it means at seven-thirty, I just finished taking a bath. Lol. Not a good practice and even I am extremely irritated with showing up late because I always tend to show up on time or even earlier. But, I am used to it. They are my people. I know how late they could be. I tell them I am already on my way yet I could still be on the couch at home chilling and still, I’d still be the first one to arrive at our meetup place. Hahaha!

CEEB73B4-2F8F-45AB-B724-E90D545CC59D.jpeg

That’s our friend right there who just had her daughter baptized and that is her little family and we couldn’t be happier for her after all that she’s been through. She truly deserves a happy family who will be there to love her at all times. Happy Christening to this cute baby girl.

CB7984B9-C7D2-4002-93E6-11CB3636A85E.jpeg

420FBEA6-76BB-47E8-B148-9095CAEA1591.jpeg

Since we were not able to attend the baptism, we got our customized candles and souvenirs at our friend’s house as soon as we arrived. It was an adorable souvenir we indeed appreciated. As you can see on the candles, my name, and my beau’s name are printed. But as you can see, my candle states “Ninong Jian”. The artist could have thought that I was a boy. I also agree that my name indeed is spelled like a boy’s name. Here in the Philippines, when you are chosen to be the godparents, you will be called ninang and ninong. As Godparents, it is our role to be good role models to our Godchild and make sure to act as their second parents. This little girl is probably my seventh Godchild, sorry I am so bad at math.People say that the more Godchildren you have, the more blessed you are. So as soon as you get the the the honor of being chosen as a Godparent, never say no!

B92ABED0-8119-485C-AFFC-10FAF6E7F27C.jpeg

In the Philippines, a celebration is never complete without a lechon. Lechon is a roasted whole pig. It is present on every Filipino occasion. It was then paired with our side dishes which are our favorite Filipino foods. It was a sumptuous lunch indeed.

1FBC889D-8D1B-4C13-9E23-BF8937172EFE.jpeg

70F6D9CF-8947-4F02-B8DC-15FBD184939B.jpeg

After lunch, we chitchatted with each other since we hadn’t seen each other for a long time. We are all busy adults and we are all busy at work so it is a very rare situation that we get reunited and all thanks to this little baby girl’s baptism that brought us together again.

They have been my friends since 2013 and we have shared a lot of good times and bad all throughout the years. We have been witnesses to each happy and sad day we all went through. It is important to catch up with your friends sometimes. We all talked about what happened in our individual lives in the past few months of not being able to see each other. We talked about life over some gin and it was so much fun just like the good old days we used to have when we were younger.

8BB1C337-B2D7-4845-95D2-482340E81FF5.jpeg

We met some new friends under the mango tree. It was a fun day being able to reunite with old friends and meet new ones.

A few important things that I realized today are:

➣ True friends may be separated at a distance but never the hearts. No matter how often or how little you see your friends, your friends will always be your friends no matter what.

➣ Find your tribe and love them hard. At this time today, it is very hard to find true friends so if you find them, keep them.

➣ Spend a little time with friends sometimes. We are all busy adults. We all deal with a lot of things. We may carry a burden less heavy than the others but it is important to always check on them. That’s what real friends do.

Today was so much fun! I am indeed looking forward to more meet-ups with my friends. We all deserve a little time off. Have a good day everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center