Reminiscing College | My College Friends Visit

1000004528.png


"True friends are never apart—maybe in distance but not in heart."
-unknown

Do you know how it feels to be valued by true friends?

It is a great feeling when your long-time friends always keep you updated on your life situations. When they ask how life is going now. Something that could replace torment experiences with a euphoric moment.

A month ago, one of my closest buddies way back in college sent a message in our group chat asking the other boys to come to our residence during the uninterrupted vacation of public school teachers. Marlon said that this time it should be realized since they keep on planning to visit me, but nothing happened. I told them the dates of our Baguio trip so that they could set a schedule for the visit. They decided to come once we're back so that we can have the best time with family and friends.

We were four boys in our circle of friends during our college days. We have different characteristics and talents, but we have the same heart for the teaching profession. The four of us were all married. So they will come to our residence with their wives and kids. Although our house is so small, it can still accommodate all of them. I asked the two working scholars who are now with us to help us prepare for the bedding and clean the entire house. It was a tiring yet happy moment, as we expected guests who valued our existence.

1000004214.jpg

1000004213.jpg

1000004219.jpg

Last July 26 was their schedule to arrive. Early in the morning, we prepared the native chicken soup, which my friends loved to eat. My wife helped me with the scalding and cooking of the dish. While my wife cooked the dish outside, I prepared the Filipino-style spaghetti, which I blogged about last time. We also prepared a cucumber with a mayonnaise dip and banana and watermelon fruits. When it was all done, we ate first because it was already past noon and our kids were already hungry. They arrived late for lunch because they depart from Danao City at almost 11 in the morning.

When they arrived, I welcomed them near the road where they parked their cars. One of the reasons I asked them was that they would be the ones to visit us because they have cars while I don't (Lol). I then told them to come to our house so that they could eat their lunch. When they saw our place, they looked at our small poultry farm, and we talked about the cancelled orders for the RTL chickens. We cancelled it because someone did not return the money being borrowed, which was intended to pay the orders. The down payment could not be refunded, and it's already a big loss to our business. But despite the situation, I remain faithful to God. I know He prepared something that could relieve all the pain we have.

They had their lunch with their kids. While we serve the drinks and other foods we could offer. They complimented the foods and talked a lot about our experiences. Matt and Juliet, Mark and Harlene were my classmates who had their love grow during our college, which led them to exchange vows on the altar of matrimony. Marlon married Dally, whom she met at another school. We knew Dally since Marlon and I were co-teachers at one of the private schools in Danao City. Their wedding is also memorable to me because it was held on the date of my birthday. It's also the third time Matt and Juliet have visited us. They always express their support and the joy of their hearts for us since I shared with them all of our sacrifices just to rise above every downfall of life.

1000004525.jpg

1000004526.jpg

We had a chance to take a group photo using my friend's phone.

After having their lunch, we went upstairs and stayed on the terrace. We recall our time during our first year of college. We laugh out loud, reminiscing about the days when we only thought of our hardships in studying. We talked about our college professors, whom we missed too. We then decided to start our videoke session. Marlon asked me where to buy a beer and assured me that they would be the ones to pay for it. I told them that I had only been drinking flavored beer since eight years ago. I don't want my kids to see me drinking a beverage high in alcohol content.

The kids of Matt and Juliet enjoyed going up and down the stairs. The daughter of Mark joined our videoke moment, and I appreciate that she sings well, just like the parents. Mark loved singing during his college years. We even joined the CTU Danao Choir, where we started to be functional during Eucharistic celebrations and other events or programs in school. I just gave them the time to sing, though they keep telling me to choose a song. I had asthma, and it would be difficult for me to breathe and get the higher notes of the song.

1000004264.jpg

1000004267.jpg

1000004269.jpg

1000004270.jpg

1000004271.jpg

1000004273.jpg

I went downstairs and prepared a Kwek-Kwek, or battered egg. My friends never thought I could prepare such a dish and even told me that they could only eat it at Compostela, where a vendor sells a delicious Kwek-Kwek with its sauce. I already posted content on how to make it. By the time it was cooked, they tried it with my newly cooked sauce. They complimented my Kwek-Kwek recipe and asked how I knew it. I told them that sometimes we sell it outside, and we even tried selling 90 pieces in a day.

Our hearts were full of joy as my family welcomed true friends that lived at a distance but were near my heart. They will always have a special place in our hearts and minds that will give them value and importance. As we reminisce about our past and learn from our present, may a brighter and better tomorrow be in our hands.

That would be all for today, friends. Just keep updated on the continuation of their visit. Thank you for your time. LOVELOTS.

Lead image was edited using Canva.
Other photos were mine unless stated otherwise.

1000002159.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center