A Treat For Ourselves

1000006286.png

Hello, Hive family and friends. How are you doing right now? I hope you are all well. I would like to share our simple gathering last Wednesday after our work. I hope you'll read and support my blog.

Last week, our school head asked us to have some time to unwind after we received our performance-based bonus. We agreed to it so that we could have time to enjoy ourselves after a stressful day at school. We decided to have dinner at Paseo of the humble town of Tabogon.

After we logged out from work, I went home first to change my shirt. After I changed, I went straight to the central school to fetch my wife and kids. My wife did not join our gathering since she needed to finish her presentation for the next day's class. She's busy because their school is piloting the Matatag Curriculum for the 5th grade. I brought them home, and I asked our daughter to come with me to the Paseo for the dinner with my friends.

1000006284.jpg

Our photo-op.

When we arrived, they had already ordered the foods. There is already a bowl of lomi and barbecue. And we waited for the main course from Chikabels, which is the grilled chicken and the rice. Others were drinking beers and cali. I did not take any of them because I don't want my daughter to see me drinking liquor. I seldom drink liquor after we have our kids. But when I was in high school and college, almost every night I got drunk. 😅

While waiting for the other foods, my other colleague played billiards, and we who remained on the table tasted the lomi. We were laughing out loud when my daughter said it has no taste. And it's true, it lacks taste as if there was no salt added to it. Sir RB offered some barbecues to us, and those who were drinking ate some of it.

1000006170.jpg

Jehoia after tasting the lomi. 😄

After a few minutes, the foods were served, and we started our dinner with a prayer. Jehoia and I shared the one large chicken thigh. The order was with unli rice, so I asked for 1 more cup of rice, enough for both of us. My daughter was asked by ma'am Jess to come with her to order more food for her. I just thought they would only order fries, but ma'am Jess ordered another meal for Jehoia. When Jehoia went back, we finished our dinner. When the order arrived, I just told the staff to place it in a disposable food container so that Jehoia could just bring it home.

1000006171.jpg

1000006172.jpg

Chicken inasal. 🫶

1000006173.jpg

Blessing the food.

1000006176.jpg

1000006177.jpg

Ma'am Jess gave Jehoia the fries they ordered, and we were touched when she said she would bring them home too because she would share them with her mom and brother. What a sweet gesture that my daughter made that night. After we had our dinner, we teased Sir Vincent and Ma'am Almira. They're both single; that's why we tease them all the time. We forced Vincent to come near Ma'am Almira's dad, who was present that night, to fetch her. Vincent blessed Ma'am Almira's dad. A Filipino gesture asking for a blessing from the elder.

Everyone was happy that night. We even forget that there were also people around us. As I observed, they were amused by how we enjoyed our night with friends. Our last gathering was after the graduation rites still at Paseo, and I was not able to join the team because of what I have been through. I'm glad I was able to join this time. I witnessed how fun it would be with the best people. More fun times are coming our way.

Thank you for reading this blog. Till next time.

Lead image was edited using Canva. Other images was taken using RealMe 12 phone.

1000002159.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center