A sisterhood that was built

received_795808782055998.jpeg

Hi, I'm back. Last time I shared the two people who I met in my darkest moments. A lover. But this time, I wanted to share with you who was with me when anyone else surrendered with who I am.

I want you to meet Manang(sister) Sheina. We met on the 25th of April. But before we really met and became close, we had conversations and I have seen her multiple times on our campus. I agree that she is one of the prettiest women on our campus. She is a Vice Governor in our department. I wasn’t expecting that we could become friends.

received_649474483684247.jpeg

received_265915859224162.jpeg
It all started when I became the basketball coordinator in our foundation week. Since then, our bond has grown stronger. From talking related to the event, to being sisters by heart. We ate lunch together, laughed together, and cried together. When I put distance to some of my friends I am hurt? she was the one who got my back. When I was about to give up, she was there to encourage me to continue. She witnesses me, when I am about to end my life.Yes, you heard it right. I was about to end it, but at the right time, she called me and that is the time I cried in front of her. I was hopeless but she gives me hope to hold onto God. She never fails to give me courage by motivating me. She never fails to send me a message about how proud she is. I always long for words of affirmations, but she never fails with it.

received_581423244136484.jpeg

received_817154693088491.jpeg

received_813707566622755.jpeg

received_795808782055998.jpeg

It just so happened that I am lucky to witness the most memorable event in her life. Her graduation day. She graduated with latin honor, Cum Laude to be exact. At that moment, I was so proud of her. Her hard work all paid off. Another step was accomplished for her dreams to come true. Seeing her with her family makes me happy because she’s been through a lot. We hugged and cried together at that moment.

you know what, she gave me this message which I will treasure always. “ Abby, I know you have so many struggles to overcome in the future but manang (sister) is always here for you no matter what. Don’t hesitate to give me a heads up if you’re not okay. I will be there when you achieve your dreams”, she said. I never told anyone I’ve been admitted to a hospital for it will be a burden to some. Not until she discovered it and made time for me. She scolded me, but you know what, I just cried because I was always craving to be scolded because they cared not for making mistakes. She just repeated the words she said to me.

As another school year started, she was the one who asked me how my first week of class was. She also cheered me up and reminded me that if I cannot take it anymore, I will just contact her.

I just realized that, when someone leaves you, there will always be a new one to come. It may be in a form of love, friendship, or sisterhood. I have lost some of my friends and other people who are very important to me while I lost myself. But she came, when I didn't have anyone beside me. She was the one who told me to connect with God again. Right now, I am still lost, but I am with someone who made me feel special and never questioned my worth. I am eager to become a better version of me, but she told me to take it slowly and love the process of growing because being greedy with growth will be too much to handle and there are also consequences. I am blessed to have her as my new manang(sister).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now