I finally upgraded my PC storage by adding a 1TB M.2 SSD

One of the things that's been nagging me for a while with my PC has been my limited SSD storage. I've been living life with a 200GB SSD for the last six years and now it was finally time to upgrade it.

I decided to blast out the big guns and went for a 1TB SSD this time. Western Digital has always made good storage gear so I went with the WD_BLACK SN850 NVMe™ SSD with Heatsink. Since my go-to tech shop had a huge weeklong sale I got it 33% off which definitely helked. I still had to pay $150 for this bad boy though. This thing has some awesome speeds at 7000/5300 MB/s read/write. I can actually plug it into a PS5 as well if I end up getting one in the future and need some extra storage.

I also got myself a floor mat to have under my desk so I don't scratch up the floor anymore than it already is and a boom arm for my microphone. That clears up some space on my desk as I used to have it on a desk stand before which made it absorb a lot of noises from hitting the table and such. Quite annoying.

For the first time now I feel like there's nothing I'm missing for my PC setup. Everything I have is pretty much of the latest generation so I won't have to do anything to my PC in a long time.

Everything is in order for me to focus on my new YouTube channel called Totally Free Gaming so that I can do my best to create som top notch content. Having this SSD has allowed me to move all my games over there while leaving my 2TB HDD free to store recordings and other material I need to produce my videos.

When it arrived I was quite surprised at how small it was. I've never seen any of these SSDs in the flesh before. Good thing it was this small though as there's not a lot of free space in my case at all. Also good thing I have tiny baby hands cause getting this thing down and in between the GPU and CPU fan wasn't easy.

IMG_9651.jpeg

I also took a really cool picture after I had mounted it. Kinda looks like a top down photo of a futuristic city with skyscrapers and stuff like that.

IMG_9652.jpeg

I'm really glad that my PC is set for the coming years now. With a Ryzen 7 5800X and a RTX 3070 Ti I should be able to handle anything the gaming industry decides to throw my way. At least for a few years.

For those that don't know it yet I started a new YouTube Channel recently focused around Free-to-Play gaming. Feel free to check it out if that's something that interests you. I posted my first video two days ago about a game called Knockout City.


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now