Damn, Braid is really good, a game where we can “rewind” - EN/ES

braid 2023-07-04 14-48-35-73.jpg

A very logical game

Many months ago I doubted what to play, I love indie games and roguelikes for their simplicity and good gameplay, which guarantees hours and hours of fun without worrying about having the latest graphics card on the market. Obviously, I also like to play realistic games with impressive worlds, but I can't enjoy them as much as I would like to. That's why I was searching in a huge personal list of Indie games I have and I got Braid, a title that I had forgotten over time and now I have it back in my mind to be tested, something I wanted to do 3 years ago and I couldn't because I was an asshole hahaha. This game may seem like just another one of the bunch, but it has many unique things that at least to me, I liked a lot.

I decided to download it and play it, it's an old-school game, although I don't know if a game from 2008 can be considered old-school, I don't think so. Starting this game for me gave me a lot of illusion, I was looking forward to playing it and besides, I want to complete it since I have heard many controversial topics about the end of the game. I started on the cover imagec you see at the beginning and then I was able to enter here, supposedly it's "World 2", something that makes no sense at all knowing that I'm just starting the game XD.

Then we enter a room that seems to be heaven XD, but it's very interesting, we have a row of books, and each one says a different paragraph and tells us the story of the game, I understand that each map will dictate you a part of the story. They tell that we are Tim, a boy looking for the princess who was trapped by an evil monster (Mario Bros, is that you?) they also mention something about cheating and bad words, and they say that it would be funny to have a world in which people accept mistakes and go on with their lives, there is no need to get upset and move away. In my opinion, did Tim do something serious to the princess? I think so...

Well, after passing those areas now we go to the fun part. Our mission in each world is to collect puzzle pieces (literally), the game is about puzzles and riddles, but we also have to put together a puzzle, so our mission will be to look for them all over the map. After a slight parkour around the map, which for me was more of a tutorial, I found the first pieces.

Now I'll explain the interesting thing about this game. The fun, curious, and unique thing is that we can rewind in time, that's our ability obviously makes the game very easy, if we die we can rewind and fix our mistakes until we get the goal. I loved the idea of just seeing it, I've literally never seen a game that is so easy haha. Here I could realize how to use it and the truth is that it takes time, that is, you must calculate your moves better if you are close to dying/getting the target. But this concept is very cool.

For example, here the puzzle piece was much higher than normal, so I had to jump double, that is, jump on top of one and then the other. Of course, if they touch me I die, but it doesn't matter at all since I have the ability to rewind.

Here is the place where we put the puzzle together, I'm missing pieces but I was able to connect 3 of them.

Here is where the magic of Braid comes, to be able to jump here I had to wait for an enemy to come out of the cannon and calculate perfectly the jump to bounce on his back and thus propel me to another side to grab the piece of the puzzle. I spent about 3 minutes calculating until I got it right, but this is just the beginning, there are a lot of puzzles like this all over the map, and obviously, you must use your head, your intelligence, and reflexes to try to get it right.

The game is not competitive at all, that is, you can take as much time as you need to achieve the objectives, I would dare to say that it is easy, but at the same time, it is not. Achieving the puzzles that are all over the map is not as easy as it seems, that's the real difficulty of Braid. Graphically I guess you have already noticed, it is very similar to Mario Bros, even in its enemies and objects around the map. Also for me everything is colorful, very cute and looks like a story, in fact, the music is very relaxing. Obviously, the game is too, it allows you to last as long as you need as long as you beat the game. That's nice.

As you can see, I missed two pieces that I really couldn't get, they are literally in a space almost impossible to get, I couldn't solve the puzzle but at least I have an idea of what the image is.

Well, I think there are 6 worlds in total, and I'm already on 3, each world will tell us the story, and collecting the puzzles will also help us to know what really happened. This game is amazing, the truth is that I did not expect less, I had high expectations and I was not disappointed, both the gameplay and the story make you think and say, fuck, I had never before experienced something like this with any game, and it's a great feeling. I'll try to bring each world successively, I want to finish it already x.x, and I'll try to hold my desire to play and do it for the posts.

Thanks for reading!


Español


braid 2023-07-04 14-48-35-73.jpg

Un juego muy lógico

Hace muchos meses dudaba en qué jugar, soy amante de los juegos indies y roguelikes por su sencillez y buena jugabilidad, eso te garantiza horas y horas de mucha diversión sin preocuparte de tener la última tarjeta gráfica de mercado. Obvio también me gusta jugar juegos realistas y con mundos impresionantes, pero no puedo disfrutar tanto de ellos como me gustaría. Por eso estaba buscando en una inmensa lista personal de juegos Indie que tengo y conseguí a Braid, un titulo que había olvidado con el tiempo y que ahora lo tengo de regreso en mi mente para ser probado, cosa que quise hacer hace 3 años y no pude por pendejo hahaha. Este juego tal vez parezca uno más del montón, pero tiene muchas cosas únicas que por lo menos a mí, me gustaron bastante.

Decidí descargarlo y jugarlo, es un juego algo antiguo, aunque no sé si se pueda considerar old-school a un juego del 2008, creo que no. Comenzar este juego para mi me daba mucha ilusión, tenía ganas de jugarlo y además, quiero completarlo ya que he oído muchos temas controversiales acerca del final del juego. Comencé en la protada que ven al principio y luego pude entrar aquí, supuestamente es el "mundo 2", algo que no tiene nada de sentido sabiendo que apenas estoy comenzando el juego XD.

braid 2023-07-04 14-58-37-32.jpg

Luego entramos a una sala que parece ser el cielo XD, pero es muy interesante, tenemos una fila de libros, cada uno dice un párrafo distinto y nos narra la historia del juego, tengo entendido que cada mapa te dictará una parte de la historia. Cuentan que somos Tim, un chico en busca de la princesa quién fue atrapada por un monstruo malvado (Mario Bros, eres tu?) también citan algo referente al engaño y malas palabras, y cuentan que sería curioso tener un mundo en el cuál las personas acepten los errores y sigan con su vida, no hay necesidad de molestarse y alejarse. En mi opinión, será que Tim le hizo algo grave a la princesa? Yo creo que sí...

braid 2023-07-04 15-01-27-44.jpg

Bueno, luego de pasar esas zonas ahora sí vamos a lo divertido. Nuestra misión en cada mundo es recoger piezas de rompecabezas (literalmente), el juego es de puzzles y acertijos, pero también debemos armar un rompecabezas, por ende nuestra misión será buscarlas por todo el mapa. Después de un leve parkour por todo el mapa, que para mí era más que todo un tutorial encontré las primeras piezas.

braid 2023-07-04 15-08-39-15.jpg

Ahora les explico lo interesante de este juego. Lo divertido, curioso, y único es que podemos rebobinar en el tiempo, esa es nuestra habilidad obviamente hace que el juego sea muy fácil, si morimos podemos rebobinar y enmendar nuestro error hasta conseguir el objetivo. Me encanto la idea de solo verla, literal nunca había visto un juego que sea tan fácil haha. Aquí pude darme cuenta de como usarla y la verdad es que toma su tiempo, o sea, debes calcular mejor tus movimientos si estas cerca de morir/conseguir el objetivo. Pero está muy genial este concepto.

Por ejemplo aquí la pieza del rompecabezas estaba mucho más alto de lo normal, por ende debía saltar doble, es decir, saltar arriba de uno y luego del otro. Eso sí, si me tocan muero, pero no importa en absoluto ya que tengo la habilidad de rebobinar.

braid 2023-07-04 15-13-06-22.jpg

Aquí es donde viene la magia de Braid, para poder saltar aquí tuve que esperar que saliera un enemigo del cañón y calcular perfectamente el salto para rebotar en su espalda y así impulsarme hasta en otro lado para poder agarrar la pieza del rompecabezas. Estuve como unos 3 minutos calculando hasta que me salió bien, pero esto es solo el comienzo, hay un montón de puzzles así por todo el mapa, y obvio debes usar tu cabeza, tu inteligencia y reflejos para intentar hacerlo bien.

braid 2023-07-04 15-22-15-02.jpg

El juego no es para nada competitivo, o sea, puedes tomarte el tiempo que necesites para lograr los objetivos, me atrevería a decir que es fácil, pero a la vez no. Lograr los puzzles que hay por todo el mapa no es tan fácil como parece, esa es la real dificultad de Braid. Gráficamente supongo que ya se han dado cuenta, es muy parecido a Mario Bros, incluso en sus enemigos y objetos por el mapa. También para mi todo es colorido, muy lindo y parece un cuento, de hecho, la música es muy relajante. Obviamente el juego también lo es, te permite durar lo que necesites con tal superes el juego. That's nice.

Como pueden ver, me faltaron dos piezas que la verdad no pude conseguirlas, literal están en un espacio casi imposible de obtener, no pude resolver el puzzle pero al menos me hago una idea de lo que es la imagen.

braid 2023-07-04 15-45-17-67.jpg

Bueno, creo que en total existen 6 mundos, ya voy por el 3, cada mundo nos irá narrando la historia y recoger los puzzles también nos ayudarán a saber qué pasó realmente. Este juego esta increíble, la verdad es que no me esperaba menos, le tenía muchas expectativas y no me defraudó, tanto la jugabilidad como la historia te hacen pensar y decir, joder, nunca antes había experimentado algo así con algún juego, y es una sensación buenísima. Intentaré hacer traer cada mundo suscesivamente, quiero acabarlo ya x.x, voy a tratar de aguantar mis ganas de jugar y hacerlo para los posts.

Gracias por leer!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center