Drawing a Cardinal

cardinal.PNG

Hello everyone and happy Saturday. I just love my feathered friends, I am not an expert at taking pictures (not that they are bad), but I prefer drawing them, my way to make a sort of tribute. I have a friend that I use to work with and she loves birds as well, and we use to send each others good mornings memes, it was fun. To make sure we stay in contact (she is a good firned to have), I have been sending her drawings of birds on Monday mornings, while wishing her a happy week.

Since I plan to draw a bird once a week, I will start with the ones that comes into my bakcyard, eating from those feeders that I try to keep as full as I can (...the squirrels likes the seeds too, they always manage to get to them). The one that came to my mind today was the cardinals, it is funny because even if they are bright red, they camouflage themselves pretty well. Once you see them, that is all you see, but until then, they hide pretty well.

The cardinal is also one of my favorite birds, I had quite a story with one of the at the end of the summer : A baby cardinal that is part of the group that eats on my balcony was attacked by a cat! It was able to snatch it and leave with it. I actually ran out at it and all I could find was a bunch of feathers and the cat running away after seeing me (but without a bird in his posession), It came back a couple of days after, all scruff up, puffing himself (you could see that it was stressed...no wonders). I was so happy about it, I was eager to see if it was ok. As a matter of fact, the very next day I started to fence up the area where the birds were (and told the cat to go away whenever I saw it). It worked and my little friend still comes and visits me today :-)

This drawing was done in Clip Studio Paint Pro. Here are some progress pics :

cardinal3.PNG

cardinal2.PNG

cardinal1.PNG

You can check out the timelapse video of the drawing below :

I hope you guys like it. Thanks for the view

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now