The unknowns

Since this week's SMAP contest is free themed again, I decided to focus on the unknown birds that roam my photo archives.


If you follow this blog even for a little while, you've probably guessed that I love to identify all wildlife I see, big or small; especially birds! I do try to identify them as soon as possible, but sometimes the photos will get home and downloaded... and by small (or big doubts) about the specific species, forgetfullness, or plain old lazyness, I end up not identifying some of the species I see!

Like this one. Probably most people visiting the magnificent Angkor Wat, in Cambodja, though that I was taking photos of the fine details of all the statues.

Which wasn't entirely untrue, but the featheredfriends flying around the temples got as many attention as the statues.

I would place this misterious one in the Turdidae family, it does share a few similarities, but can't tell for sure.


It would probably be easier to identify than Cuban hummingbirds... does anyone know this little fellow?

Truth be told, they don't stay in the same place that long for decent photos!

Doves and pigeons are common in most areas of the world as as well... but a ton of different species exist. It probably wouldn't be too hard to know which one this is, but I'm yet to find out as well.

Jumping from America to Asia again, more species to be identified: a long tailed cutie somewhere in Thailand.

I remember seeing a very similar bird in Costa Rica; it shared the same tail, but the face is a lot more colourful on this one.


Speaking of colours, this "bird doe" roaming in Sri Lanka has some striking ones as well.

And I got to photograph it front and back, to make the (procrastinated) identification easier.

Good thing, nowadays there are a number of online identification tools that can probably help me. And being able to share some of these unknowns is a great opportunity to finally identify them: by selecting these photos and gathering them here, it will make my work a lot easier, instead of searching my photo albums again! Now I just have to take care of this $$%&@^ procrastination habit! 😅 Work in progress...


Of course, if any of you bird lovers out there can identify some of them, feel free to leave a comment!

Have a great weekend!

PS. in the topic of birds and cool statues, here's an easy to identify bird!

Yes, a sparrow...

...but which one? 😉

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency