Soundcheck! 1... 2... 3...

This week's SMAP contest is all about sound! Well, not all about. But close enough: Songbirds are the featured artists this week!

Songbirds belong to the passeriformes order of birds, which is the biggest one in terms of number of species. Not all passerines are songbirds, but I'll leave my geekish side away from this post this time: does it sing? Then it fits! :)


1122.jpg

House sparrow - Passer domesticus, male

And there's a 99,9% chance that you've saw, or heard, this one sing! Sparrows exist everywhere, and this male was going wild on a morning concert.


11233.jpg


33.jpg

He even changes stages during the performance. True, not the most melodic song, but still a joy to the ears. I may be a little biased, since I love to hear birds sing... but then again, don't we all?


44.jpg

Spotless starling - Sturnus unicolor

Although I probably wouldn't mind that the starlings would be a little less vocal sometimes. Because rarely we have a solo artist, as it was the case here. Noramlly a full band comes, with back up vocals, their cousins, the cousin's friends, and the groupies... and they ALL sing!


55.jpg

The next one was actually a surprise to me. I kept hearing a beautiful song in the middle of the branches, but it was almost mission impossible to spot the singer. I finally did, pointed the camera and clicked. And when I zoomed the photo, there it was!


aa11.jpg

Robin - Erithacus rubecula

I'm used to recognise the robin's call, but had never identified the singing as coming from them. Well, it's definitely worth listening!


aa22.jpg

As for this guy...


66.jpg

Iberian grey shrike - Lanius meridionalis

... well, let's just say they wouldn't win a singing contest.

Actually, I think this one was not that happy with my presence. A long chirp, from the highest spot on the tree, that I imagined translating to something like "Get the f#$% out of here!"


77.jpg

He did changed setting, but it was the only song he knew! I find the bird beautiful, so I didn't mind the lack of melodical skills.

This next one is also not the most melodic singer... but it has a cool crest, 80's rock style!


88.jpg

Crested lark - Galerida cristata

Larks love the beach, so probably best for those Summer concerts; this one was practicing hard!


99.jpg

They sure have style, don't they? 😉

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency