Not your usual shorebird - SMAP edition

Free theme for this week's SMAP contest; a perfect theme to feature this little guy. I could probably name my theme as "my favourite unusual shorebird"!


I posted last week about the hooded crows catching limpets like a pro in Croatian beaches. But there was another species on the beach that I wasn't expecting to see. It's one of my favourite bird species; one that I hardly see, let alone photograph it. It flashed before my eyes first time, and I felt soo lucky to see it. There's no way to mistake them, with those colours.

Then it flew by a second time.

Then a third. And a forth!!

I decided to get up from my towel, and walk a little bit in the last direction it flew with the camera on my hand; and after just a few meters...


European kingfisher - Alcedo atthis

There he was! A kingfisher, perched in a pine tree, contemplating the crystal clear waters!

I snepped a ton of photos, since normally they look great on the camera's small screen; only when I see them on the computer screen I discover how blurry they are. And I tried to get closer and closer.

He kept perched, and I finally was able to get decent photos!

Kingfishers, as the name implies, feed on fish; but normally not the salt water kind! And I haven't noticed any freshwater nearby. There are reports of kingfishers feeding in partially salted water, especially in Winter time, when rivers and small streams freeze; but this was the end of Summer. Oh well, probably Croatian birds are built different! :) I won't complain, loved seeing him!

Sexes are identical, apart from the beak colour: females have a little bit of red at the base of the lower part of beak; so I guess this was a male, trying to catch his lunch.

I think I was busted here. Still, he didn't flew right away, I was still able to get a couple more photos before the takeoff.

Being able to admire this guy for so long had already made my day; but after seeing him fly by after some more time, when I was already leaving the beach, I tried to find him again.

And where did I found him? In the ground, near a small pool by the seashore.

The little bugger spotted me right away, and tried to hide, ninja style!

He flew shortly after, and I followed my way as well. This was definitely a lucky observation; I was so glad that I had decided to take the zoom camera with me, or I would be banging with my head on the trees! :)


Hope you have a great weekend!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency