Small Woodpecker Bird


It is amazing to be able to see this species for the first time, I have been very lucky these last months to meet new birds like the nightjar from last time.

This time, although I know what a woodpecker looks like, I had never been able to come across one before.

I heard the familiar sound of accelerated tapping on the wood, and reacted a few seconds later to look for where it was coming from. Then I finally came upon a small, bright red little crest moving in a hurry.

It was moving so fast and was in an awkward position, I couldn't see it well from my angle, so I could barely get the pictures.

And since I had no idea about this bird or its exact name, I did my typical research walk.


Name: Checkered Woodpecker

Scientific name: Veniliornis mixtus (family Picidae)

General data: About 15cm approximately. White belly with black striations, black on the back and wings, mottled with white. The male has a black crown forehead with the sides of its nape in red.

ā€”šŸ¦†šŸŒ¼ā€”

Thank you very much for your attention and appreciation, any respectful comment is welcome. I'll say goodbye for the moment and see you in the next post.


Instagram: @ ori_kkot / @ psykkot - (SFX)
Images taken with Fujifilm Finepix s700 camera.
Separators made in Canva.
Scientific data such as Latin names and height description extracted from the application "Aves Argentinas" approved by the Culture Ministry of the Nation.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now