Walking and birds spotting Week 07

Hello friends.

This is week 07 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from February 11 to February 18. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in.

This week, the icy and spring days alternated. It was mostly sunny and the temperature ranged from -10 to 10 degrees. During the icy days, a strong wind blew that froze all water surfaces.
Currently, the forecast is such that a longer period is expected with spring temperatures of 15 degrees Celsius.
I am already well acquainted with where I can find certain species of birds in the area. So I've visited mostly common places and observed their behavior. One day I was exploring new routes and it paid off.

This week has been very productive, and I have documented 18 different bird species. Most are common to this area, while I was able to spot some that I haven’t or have rarely seen before.

Sparrows

This week too, tree sparrows dominate. On one occasion, I managed to get quite close and take nice photos.



Rooks

Except on one occasion, I mostly saw them in small groups or individually.

rooks_03.jpg



Pigeons

They spent most of the day on the roofs due to the cold weather.

pigeons_03.jpg

It was so cold that day with a strong wind that this pigeon curled into a ball.



Magpies

Always on guard and often guard each other's backs. Sometimes they can be seen in larger groups but most often individually or in pairs.



Collared doves

I’ve rarely seen them this week, but they can still be spotted in their favorite places, power lines, and increasingly in tree canopies.



Hooded crow

They are almost always outside the settlement. They generally don't change location, so I can easily find them. They usually search the fields where they are currently feeding on various seeds.



Eurasian jackdaw

Although I see them every day, they rarely stand out from the group, and it is quite difficult for me to photograph them. Yesterday I was lucky enough to run into this bird on the roof.



Long-eared owls

This week I focused on taking pictures of them in flight. I have succeeded on several occasions, but I am still not satisfied. They fly so quietly that it is challenging to spot them. I expect that their numbers will drastically decrease in the coming weeks.

owls_01_2_.jpg



Common buzzard

They wait patiently for an opportunity at the tops of the trees. I meet them practically all around the place, and I am quite surprised by their number. As soon as they notice me, they fly to another location.



Sometimes they fly so low that they are literally a few inches from the ground.



Common kestrel

I find them like crows in certain locations. This time I was noticed first. So I managed to take a photo only in flight.



Eurasian sparrowhawk

For the third time, I notice him circling at a height above the street where I live. Unfortunately, it is always very high.



Woodpecker

This is my only encounter with a woodpecker this week. I was already on my way out of the woods when I suddenly heard him and slowly came back. Luckily he didn't mind my presence or the noise I was making. He was just focused on finding food.



Great tit

One day I came across a great tit feeding on buds.

great_tit_02_2_.jpg



Goldcrest kinglet

Nearby, I met goldcrest. This time I waited for about half an hour until he showed up from the canopy of the tree, and paused long enough to photograph him.



Great gray heron

I visited the irrigation canal on a couple of occasions, and only once I came across a gray heron.
I noticed him from a distance standing on the icy water. As soon as I got closer, he flew away.



Fieldfare

While exploring a new route, I came across a flock of fieldfares. Luckily I managed to take a few photos.

fieldfare_07_2_.jpg



Mallards

They are slowly starting to come to the lake and are still considerate and unaccustomed to people, so they fly away immediately.



Great cormorant

Another new bird species that I am adding to the list. I didn't expect to see it here. From a distance, I thought it was a grebe.

great_cormorant_01_2_.jpg

But after he soared, I recognized him.



I finally figure out how to set beneficiaries in #Ecency. Actually, it is quite easy with the latest update. If you want to do it just click on the advanced button and you'll get instead of the preview page a page with additional settings. Click on Set Beneficiaries, add @hive-106444 without @, set percentage, click on the plus button and finally click on done. Now you are ready to publish your post.

Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency