Shy and not-so-shy flamingos

DSC_7388.JPG

They seem to be smart birds. They are united - when one has lunch, everyone else has it simultaneously.

When I arrived at this place where I promised myself a few months ago that I would return (check here in case you want to see my promise) everyone had their heads buried in the water. Is that possible? All the flamingos were so shy and busy looking for tasty morsels.

DSC_7342.JPG

Fortunately, I had time and patience, so I was able to wait for those individuals who from time to time decided not to be so shy and show themselves.

DSC_7343.JPG

Mostly, it happened every few seconds that some of the flamingos in the flock raised their heads just enough to breathe air and that's it - back into the water. It was like a game, I had to wait to see who would be next to raise their head. Other times I followed the same bird and waited for that second he would breathe.

DSC_7365.JPG

I didn't always guess in this game of picking the right flamingo. This is also confirmed by the fact that I took over a hundred or so pictures... Much more. Always the same picture: a multitude of white feathered clouds standing in the water, with pink legs and a long neck in the water.

DSC_7356.JPG

When I was at home importing pictures from the camera to the laptop and checking them I gave up on the one-hundred-and-tenth image. And there was still a lot, at that number I reached half of my today's walk around this salt lagoon in Calpe.

DSC_7442.JPG

The info board said that the walk around this lagoon takes more or less 45 minutes. It took me an hour as I went slowly and waited for the not-so-shy flamingos. However, it was quite an easy path, dirt road mostly, with some stages with wooden paths.

DSC_7405.JPG

DSC_7438.JPG

All around the lagoon, you could spot birds and flamingos but they were close to the shore just in some parts. For example, this family of flamingos enjoyed their Sunday time in a remote corner. They were my favourites today.

Do you see the little ones too? They are grey.

DSC_7413.JPG

DSC_7410.JPG

The "parents" of those little ones made some posing exhibition for me. Well, people with professional cameras and lenses and with talent, skills and experience would make some super nice photos, not like mine. 😁

DSC_7416.JPG

DSC_7417.JPG

Contrasting elements - city vs nature?

DSC_7427.JPG

I made the whole circular walk around the lagoon with a smile on my face. How many times do we get the chance to see flamingos this close?

DSC_7361.JPG

Whether they were shy or not, I was happy with my walk today. :))

DSC_7378.JPG

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments