Black kite painting in Gouache

Hi all 👋🏻
With my first post in your Feathered Friends community I want to share with you my love for birds and nature. I am an FineArt artist and Photographer.
Here I show you my steps in creating this painting from A Black Kite. I will also show you photographs of birds in the near future of course 😉

Title: ”The Hunter” 2015
Painted with gouache on mount-board 40 x 26 cm / 15.7 x 10.2 inch. Reference photo used with permission from Gary Jones (pmp)
56092afa_a724_47fb_92f7_7614eeac0d56.jpeg

First step was drawing a sketch to get the proportions right and airbrush the background.
20_11_1_.jpg
(Sorry had no better photo of this stage as it was late at night)

In the next step I painted the beak.
21_11_2014.jpg

And started the feathers
21_11a.jpg

The eye was painted to get his Gaze right. As this is a very important step to get right in any portrait painting or drawing.
30_11_2014.jpg

A little bit more on the head
30_11.jpg

After this step I had a break of some months… I started planning my Move to Spain 🇪🇸
In January 2015 I drove 5 days in my Classic Mini from The Netherlands to South Spain. I actually moved on my own🥳🥳🤞🏻🤞🏻

After settling in a bit I started this painting again.
I was at this stage:
24_6_2015.jpg

I finished this painting in September of 2015 in Spain.
Hereby the result and last step:
img_8423.jpg

Hope you liked my little step by step from this painting of a beautiful Black Kite, although it is not a photograph of our feathered friends 😊

‼️If you missed my post from the 2 paintings and drawing I am working on at the moment, Work In Progresses you find that post here : wip-gouache-kingfisher-oranges-in-oil-portrait-drawing
It’s about my first Oil Painting, a Gouache painting from a Kingfisher and another portrait fantasy Drawing. ‼️

Thank you for looking and reading 😊
Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

If you want to know a little bit more about me… have a look at my introduction to Hive post.
Click here for my first-post-introducing-myself from last week

Have a great day all 😎
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency