Our Pollinator Friends! My Bee and Butterfly Paintings

HI

I got some art for you all! Raising appreciation and awareness for our pollinators, the life of forests, trees, flowers, nectar and honey. Our bees and stunning butterflies!

bee.jpg

Upclose! the paper is textured

This is the size of tha paper. Really small card type. It is watercolor paper but I folded it and it is pretty hard so its good for cards.

Some work in progress photos

Now let me tell you how it is so easy to make a simple watercolor painting which isn't so detailed and realistic (meaning not hyper realism)

  1. Observe your subject
    Here is the reference photo by AlexaAdersen from Deviantart
    https://www.deviantart.com/alexaadersen/art/Bumblebee-852012164

    I would like to point out that observation is so crucial. How will you place the subject? what color schemes you will choose, or how you will stick close to the original without losing creativity. Observe in order to plan.

Step 1

layering is the key! I dab pink, violets and blue, paint a green stem and darken them

I put layers of pink because using blue would be too dull, I decided to make pink the base and add blue for shadows.

The bee here is blue violet and yellow for the first layer. The wings is a mix of beige and sky blue and a bit of grey.

Step 2

step two is adding shading and shadows where you dont need much black colors to avoid it looking like it has a hole or too dark it will mess up the whole balance of your painting.

I actually like this like this but I tried to just make a full background painting which I never do. I am trying to get out my comfort zone. For the flowers a the back I added a duller blue to express distance. Its less defined and farther from the subject so it is a subordinate to the main bunch of flowers which are more warm and pink.

The bee here has already a layer of black and dark blue to emphasize shadow and depth and its fluffy fur. I should have scanned it like this but I'll just make a new one. I also added brick red and orange to the other parts of the yellow fur of the bee.

Finally

Butterfly

Alright now I need to show you the butterflies!

This is a butterfly experiment I did. It brings the garden with it!

Process photos

Another monarch!

Here is another butterfly I made, it has no background but it still is pretty clear and emphasized.
The reference photo I also got from deviant art, here is the link:
https://www.deviantart.com/justinderosa/art/Falling-Rain-853839631

Final outcome! I was pretty satisfied!

So that's all folks! thanks for reading I hope you all like my art!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center