Feathered Friends SMAP Contest Entry - A Female Northern Cardinal

This is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 68 which is hosted by @nelinoeva! The theme for this round is "Female Birds". You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

smapfemalebirds5-19-2022-1ok.jpg

My photos this week feature the female Northern Cardinal. Last week I featured the male Northern Cardinal which I photographed on the ground beneath my bird feeders so I figured I would show off the female in the same spot.

smapfemalebirds5-19-2022-2ok.jpg

I also mentioned last week in my post that the male and female Northern Cardinals are very easy to distinguish from each other because the male has an overall vibrant red color with black around the eyes and beak. That is not to say that the female doesn't sport some vibrant red coloring though. Below is a side by side of both the female and male and I think you would agree that the female has as beautiful coloring as her male counterpart.

smapfemalebirds5-19-2022-3ok.jpg

If you want to attract Northern Cardinals (if they are native to your area) to your feeders then I would recommend putting safflower seeds in your feeders. Northern Cardinals love safflower seeds as do some other desirable song birds.

smapfemalebirds5-19-2022-4ok.jpg

I do believe that the male and female shown above are a mated pair. I think they have a nest in a tree across the street and just fly over here to enjoy some seed. Hopefully, they will have a lot of offspring and, eventually, they will visit the feeders as well! 💖

smapfemalebirds5-19-2022-5ok.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency