Grandparent stories contest entry: @trangbaby

Remember the days when you were a little child when your parents were away, who were the ones taking care of you and protecting you, Trang?

Nowadays, still, there are multiple generations living under the same roof in my country. However, the majority of people do not have grandparents close by to share a moment with and look up to. If you have grandparents nearby, you're lucky.

image.png

Back in the old days, early 90's, my grandparents were both in their early eighties when I was in primary school. We had no internet and power during that time. But the little house was always full of laughter and so much happiness when my brothers and I were carefree and well-taken care of by my grandparents.

That was a great childhood memory. They spoiled me with love and attention, and always had time to spend with me when my parents were busy. My grandparent was an important part of my upbringing and they filled up me with love. My childhood will never be complete without that old and warm embrace.

Every story my grandparent told and every word they said contained invaluable lessons. I didn't totally understand at that time, but years later and until now, I have realised that I used to have so many fond memories with them. The older I get, the more I understand how much my grandfather loved me but they aren't here anymore.

image.png

Sound, we will never grow up, but forever just a little grandchild. I will keep it in mind, grandma: "treat others with dignity, respect, and love" and "take care of myself because no one else will do it for me". They taught me that it is important to always have enough patience and kindness for the people around me. They taught me that I should always try to be true to myself, even when others will not.

I remember the time we sat with my grandpa and grandma during Tet Holiday (Vietnamese New Year), we were all gathered around the table, enjoying traditional dishes, talking about our lives and sharing stories. That moment was priceless! I treasure time spent with my grandparent whether it was just for an afternoon or a weekend, these moments are always cherished and memorable.

image.png

I do believe, for everyone, family is the most precious thing in life. It is not only the love between parents and children but also the love of grandfathers for their grandchildren. They are the most caring and loving people in our lives. They may get old, blurred and weak but their love for children and grandchildren never fades. They love us unconditionally.

Therefore, if your grandparent is still around, you know, you're the luckiest person. Let's cherish every moment with them as time will not last forever and we don't know how tomorrow is.

I don't have any pictures of my grandparent as you know we had no internet, no phone and no power in the past. Many thanks to Galen and Silver Blogger Community for creating this great contest and meaningful topic. It gives me such warm feelings to memorize good times spent with my grandparent.

Flowers are the symbol of love, a sacred and precious thing

Thank you for reading, and I hope you will participate in the contest. Looking forward to reading your stories 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency