Prepping the Birdbath for Spring - by Sunscape

birdbath-1.jpg

The birdbath needed some love after being used for over 20 years. Some of the cement had begun to crumble and the bowl had cracked. It was the perfect time to revamp it now that spring is fast approaching.

hive-garden-birdbath-2.jpg

The bowl had been repaired once but only held up for 2 seasons. So, the only option was to buy a new bowl to place on top of the base.

hive-garden-birdbath-1.jpg

Even though the birdbath looks fine with the natural aging from the elements, I wanted to change it up a bit.

hive-garden-birdbath-4.jpg

First I scrubbed it well with soapy water and let it dry overnight. Then I applied a coat of primer paint to protect the birdbath's surface.

birdbath-.jpg

The following day I rummaged through my acrylic paints to see what I had on hand. I decided to use violet purple and cobalt blue to make this darker shade of blue.

birdbath-2.jpg

I used a crisscrossing stroke to allow some of the white from the primer to show through. I lightly brushed over the raised butterflies to keep their patterns somewhat highlighted.

birdbath-1 (1).jpg

Next, I painted the bowl and let the birdbath dry overnight.

birdbath.jpg

This year I plan on adding some more blue objects into the gardenscape now that I brightened up the bath for the birds. Also, I read that the birds are attracted to the blue, we shall see soon.

feathered-friends-birds-bath-3.jpg

Here are some sparrows enjoying the birdbath last summer. I sure hope they don't mind my updating their bathing place. ;-)

It will be another warm sunny day and I will be outside working in the gardens.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center