Memoir Monday #22 - How did you manage periods in your life when you had the least money?

Greetings dear Hiveans !!! Each day's happening, becomes a memory for tommorow. Good old memories we treasure, but some we are forced to forget. So if you have memories, do not forget to post, a memorable initiative taken by @ericvancewalton at #memoirmonday.

How did you manage periods when you had the least money?

Here is this week's promot. 👆

Once a while we crave for the country's special cuisine and here we have the fish fry

A challenging phase in most of our lives when it comes to money. Though it comes in gradually, in no time it is out of your hand. Especially this becomes more challenging in a middle class family. The reason being, at the end of every month or in the beginning of a new month, a portion of money is allocated for savings. And if this is not done, it results in tension among the bread winner of the family. I have observed this.

Iam from a middle class family. My father a central government employee, with a meagre income and mother a simple supportive house wife who adjusted with all simple things in life. As for any parent, we three children, were their main priorities and I have seen my father running from pillar to post to meet the ends.

A critical period of time was during our schooling and college, when we had to pay our school quarterly fees. I could see the frustration and pain in my father during (month end) this period. All our needs were never accepted or accomplished, but if it was important my father never gave up.

Growing up, we siblings learnt much about adjustments. Sharing, caring, to give up, to overcome stress to stay united was all part of this tough period with least money.

On one of our vacations in India

Being a part of conservative muslim family, education and marriage was the main challenge. Which meant, less education and early marriage. With the support of my family, I successfully completed my double degree and settled in marital life at 24. All praise to Almighty, I had a job of my own to overcome my struggle. And that was my parent's dream.

When I got married and shifted to the middle easr, came in the next challenge with the least income. Both me and my husband worked in a private firm, which meant no benefits, and only expenses from our own pocket. Initially it was quite tough especially the medial expenses, household expenses, housing rent, water and electricity bills. The funniest part being when all these come together we are completely bankcrupt.

Our home sweet home was in this building 2nd floor, for 15 years where with limited funds had a peaceful happy life

After two years of settling down, I was placed in a reputed International school as librarian. One of the advantage of working here, was to admit my children to this school with a staff discount of 50% from tuition fees. This came in as a blessing. Several such situations came in as a blessing.

Our travel to India, was also limited to once in two year or three year. In short, my children also grew up seeing what we went through. Now, that they are grown up they know their limitations, Because right from childhood, while the need for purchase arise. they heard more of No rather than an Yes . But we made sure not to say no to some of their small special happiness, though it was beyond our expectations.

At this point, I would like to share a genuine thought, a general one. Some times we as parents regret for not able to fulfill their needs. But never be sorry, as they are the life's greatest challenges you are imparting to your child. Because as Adults, the child will face challenges in life more boldly, with least money.

The worst challenges I faced was during the covid time. Three years before this pandemic I settled down in my native country, for the betterment of my children's education. I gave up my job. My husband who came down for two months vacation during the covid period, was unable to go back to the country. Henceforth, both of us are jobless and children still in school and college level. That was the toughest time.

Timely help used to pour in from my father, for which I am still indebted . Now 84, he is still assisting us with a small income despite we having a short source of income. My oldest son was in hostel for 5 years and most often he used to mamage small expenses, by selling some of his best photography at a negotiable price. I was really happy about this, because he learnt to live within his limits. All his extra expenses he used to cover with his limited income, by not troubling us. That was a positive initiative for a boy aged 22.

This was his first photography that fetched him recognition and name in UNICEF

Hope you enjoyed my share of article. The photos captured are my own , from our family album and from my Samsung Galaxy A50. Thanks once again to @ericvancewalton without whose initiative, the memories would remain as just memory in albums, rather than posting in this community.

Thankyou for your patient visit, awaiting your commentz. Have a blssed day🙏

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center