Memoir Monday #14 : Today's life

Greetings to the wonderful community of Hive- A globally growing community.

If you think your present life had a drastic change compared to your childhood days, a warm welcome to share your journey here. An initiative hosted by @ericvancewalton in #memoirmonday

How is life different today compared to when you were a child?

An open beach full of sand, turned to greenery after 25 years of my visit

To begin with, many of us, I believe, have enjoyed our childhood days. Even today's children enjoy that, but differently. When we had a collection of personal friends to share, to care, to enjoy moments today's children do have the same, but virtually.

Today's life has had al drastic change compared to yestetday (yesterday). Many of us had a normal life, we used to live within the budget provided and was infact, very happy, though with little or none.

A good lot of emotional support from the elders made us strong. I remember my college days in early 90's where we have to travel a lot to reach our college and back to home. My house was close to the bus stand, which meant my parents can keep an easy access to the bus stop, whether we reached or not after the scheduled time. The indifference of attitudes among male and female, was not felt when we sat with a stranger in bus. We always felt protected. Today, though Iam old enough, while getting into the bus I had to think twice before sitting next to a stranger of opposite sex.

Another sweet memory is a post office near my home. The postbox is red in color and the same applies to the post office. As technology was not in existence, our only mode of correspondence to close ones was through letters. And I was the one at home, who regularly visits the post office for posting letters, postcards, buying stamps and inland letter. Today when I look back, I cannot describe the enjoyable walk for posting a letter, standing in a queue for purchase of letters or stamps etc. at the post office. Now all these has been replaced by a smartphone..

I still remember the days I got married and left my home to stay abroad with my husband. I used to wait for my mom's letter, briefing the full happenings around. Infact, it was like a story. One more interesting part was the telephone booth. A time when mobile was not in existence. I used to wait in que to make a call to my mother. The excitement when talking once a week was beyond joy.

My family, a journey to my home town 3 years back

Another fact is about the openess in children. What I feared once to say in the presence of my parents, are being said in public by today's children. It looks like the privacy is being lost and boldness have overtaken. Parent - child relationships are more or less, too friendly. But this has both positive and negative effects. Looking into the positive side they open up all the issues to their parents, at the same time on the negative aspect the children are too narrow minded to withstand or overcome even small issues. This results in increasing suicide rates.

Technology plays a main role in today's age. The children are quite advanced beyond their age, with all latest gadgets. Recently, my son went to purchase a bike, it has all the facilities - a usb portal, incoming & outgoing messages facilities etc. Any advancements has its own merits & demerits. More the advancements in Technology, more the distance by a child from his parent.

Life was more comfortable without any gadgets in the yesteryears. To chit chat with family and friends, watching movies in an open theatre near our home, playing in the open ground with friends after school hours visiting friends home, the less equipped library with latest stuff.....was the best time in my life. Most often I feel sorry for my children, as they couldn't enjoy such a life. But then that's life and it should move on.

These are just a few remembrance, to my knowledge. Photos posted are my own. Thanks for your visit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now