Leavenworth Washington - A Visual Tour

Here is a collection of images from the small town of Leavenworth, Washington. It has been a few years since I have been there last, but I am always ready for a return trip. These photos are from two different trips about 6 years apart and some vintage photos my parents took. I'm also throwing in some ski jumping home movies from the 50's that include my dad jumping. So scroll on down and enjoy the tour of some of the sights in Leavenworth, Washington.

Leavenworth is a small town on the banks of the Wenatchee River in the Cascade Mountain Range of Washington State. The images above are from a hike I took up to Icicle Ridge that towers over the town.

Here is the view off the backside of the ridge of the Wenatchee River as it flows into Leavenworth.

And the last shot of this fall of 2010 trip. The Wenatchee River as it leaves Leavenworth Washington.

The start of a hike along the river in 2016.

Castle Rock and me from the hike.

Sunrise from the room at the Bavarian Lodge

Another view from the room of Icicle Ridge where I did my hike in 2010.

A zoomed in view of where the Icicle River drains from the high Cascades. Lots of alpine mountain lakes in this area called The Enchantments.

The dinner view of the Bavarian themed town of Leavenworth Washington. Some time in the early 60's the Bavarian theme was adopted to save the town. It is now a vacation destination for many any time of the year. Christmas can get quite crowded as they boast a 500,000 light display!

And to round out my 2016 visit to Leavenworth a couple of shots of the small ski/tubing area. On the left you can see the old lodge that was being restored during my visit. On the right you can just see Bakke Hill about mid way up. This area was quite a popular ski jumping mecca during the 50's. More on that soon. :)

Little me by the Wenatchee River on a family vacation, circa 1966, heading into Leavenworth.

My parents International truck parked under the judges stand of the main hill of the ski jump, circa 1955. My dad competed here during this time.

A shot of the inrun for the main hill.

The last thing you saw before launching into space.

I believe my dad did some practice jumps off of this but his competitive jumping was done on the smaller hill to the right. You can also see the old lodge down below that I referenced above.


Some home movies of my dad jumping on the B hill at Leavenworth.


And to finish things off a somewhat longer video my dad took of jumpers going off the A hill, circa 1955.


Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, except where noted.

Please visit WorldMapPin to see the locations of some of my other posts and check out https://inleo.io/profile/oldmans for more of my photographic work.
If you are interested in microblogging make sure to follow this link https://inleo.io/signup?referral=oldmans to sign up on Inleo.

Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now