How has my worldview evolved over time?

I grew up in Melbourne the capital city of Victoria which is right at the bottom of the map of Australia on the East Coast. I spend many years working construction in the central business district. We used to install the lifts into the high rise building. It was a good job. As an electrician by trade we would start wiring up all the elevator controls before the buildings were fully finished. It was pretty exciting getting some great unobstructed views.

The first photo above is from 1988 which I took from the new Melbourne Central building which I was working on. The second photo below is from a big residential tower near Southern Cross station we were staying in for a couple of nights a couple of years ago. The photos are definitely not a true apples for apples comparison 34 years apart but it gives a bit of an example of the changes I have seen I my time. The sheer amount of buildings and the basic camera quality are just a few.

I remember when I was young talking an older relative visiting from the England. We were talking about the differences. I was saying there was not enough good big things in Australia compared to America and Europe. He thought that was not necessary a bad thing. It took decades for me to understand what he was meaning.

Australia's population is still not huge (27 million) compared to many places I have visited around the world but it is started to feel very crowded, peak hour traffic grinding to a stand still, I remember when I used to be able to zip into town in 25 minutes.

I did not have much of a world view when I was younger. Only the big world events seemed to get any news coverage now we get so much news and details from everywhere it can be a bit overwhelming. I am starting to chose not to watch as much.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center