My first Pet. Memoir Monday #31

I never had a pet when I was growing up. Not that our family did not like them but as busy city people on a tight budget with lots going on at home, I suppose there just was not the time to give one the care and attention they need. I don't think my parents had pets growing up either.

It did come up in conversation when I was a teenager but I was playing sport and my younger sister would not be able to help look after one so we never got one.

Funny thing is, never having a pet did not mean I was not good with animals. While I was backpacking in Europe I stayed with A Swiss friend in Grindelwald, who I meet while driving around Australia. One morning we were help train a team of Husky sled dogs. The dogs were attached in formation to the back of a car. All of as sudden things went wild and they started attacking each other. My friend and another trainer could not stop them until I ran in grabbed one dog in a head lock with one arm and punched another dog that was trying to attack it, One punch stopped the hole pack in its tracks.

I thought I would get in trouble from the owner for being too aggressive but in the spur of the moment it felt like the only thing to do.

The owner was not mad at all as the dogs were biting each other and some need a trip to the vet.

Any way back to my first pet, I got a bit side tracked with my backpacking story. 10 years later on. My son wanted a dog, his mother had always had pets growing up but this would be my first. I was a bit worried at first as I used to work lots of long hours but they were able to do most of the caring.

Brontie was a Jack Russell mini Fox Terrier cross from memory. A really nice small dog that definitely became part of our family.

We used to look after other friends dogs while they were away. I think its good for children growing up to have a pet, it helps teach a bit of responsibility and caring.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center