Memoir Monday: Whatever you choose to be and to do, it will be accomplished


Image from my personal gallery

Whatever you choose to be and to do, it will be accomplished

When I got out of college, I remember making a list of things I wanted in the short and long term. Many of those things I got, many others I have not achieved and others, thank God, never happened. Obviously that list has changed. I think many of the things I wanted in my 20s are not as important now that I am in my 50s.

Although I have long been a firm believer in the phrase, “Tell God your plans so he will laugh at them,” I also believe that the word, spoken and written, magnetizes, has the power of attraction. We are magnets of the universe and through words we can attract whatever we are interested in and pay attention to.

So, apropos of this week's question, on #memoirmonday, asked by our great friend @ericvancewalton and if we have a map as a guide it is more difficult to get lost, today I want to talk about how I want to spend these next ten years of my life.

In two years I will be retiring and although I have read all my life, in these years many of the things I have read are for work. In this new stage I will read only for pleasure. Books that contribute to me, that stimulate me, that make me vibrate, cry, laugh, that when I finish them, leave me with a feeling of pleasure and satisfaction. No books of theories, of “obligatory” reading: to taste the delicacy without reading the menu.

Likewise, since those who read have the curiosity to write, I am going to dedicate myself to writing and to ordering what I have written. Last year I was offered to publish a book with my short stories and for family reasons, I had to postpone everything. Well, that book will see the light of day in the next few years. I have always believed that writing is an act of resistance, an act of relief, of growth, as an escape valve, so I will try to dedicate more time to writing.

“Don't grab me, I'm coming out”. That will be the phrase I will use the most. I want to travel again, discover new places, get out of the routine, get to know other cultures, get to know myself. I do not pretend to know famous or expensive places (although if you can, cool), I want to know places where the wonderful thing is the landscape, the people, that are designed for the pleasure of a walk, outdoor lunches, a coffee in the afternoon, a sunset with unforgettable colors. “I have crossed many rivers”, says a proverb and I want to keep crossing rivers. So next destination: the world.

I have always been a very family-oriented person, but this year, when my youngest nephew died, I realized that the moments we share with them are not enough. So I want to share with my family as much or more than I have shared. I want to travel with them, to create between us that memory of memories away from home, to be part of the unforgettable moments, of incredible adventures, because with the years, we understand that although people are not eternal, what we have lived with them is.

I want to continue counting on my friends and I want them to have the certainty that they can count on me. I want to continue sharing beers, coffee, laughter, tears, secrets, disappointments with them. I want to talk with them as always, about politics, sex, trivialities, and that time or distance are not reasons to keep us apart, because with them I have learned more than in any university and I have learned to be more human, integral, supportive, empathetic, as never before.

I once read that the best destination is the sea and I think so. In line with this, I am going to buy myself (fingers crossed) a “casita” in front of the sea. Mentally I have already seen it and decorated it. It's white, small, with lots of palm trees around it and few objects inside. I want to open the window and the door, and let the noise and the smells of the sea invade my senses. I want to walk along the shore early in the morning and then, at sunset, stroll again and get my feet wet in the calm waves. There I want to read, write, cook, listen to music, dance, I also want to share a beer or a coffee with my family and friends. That is to say, this will be the nest where many of my previous wishes will be fulfilled.

Destiny is an expert in splitting paths in two, but if we have a plan, a map, it is easier to know where we want to go. Each of us has in mind the image of what we want to be, what we want to become. Here is my mirror....

The images are from my personal gallery and the text was translated with Deepl

This is my participation this week for our great friend @ericvancewalton's initiative: Memoir monday. If you want to participate, here's the link to the invitation post

Thank you for reading and commenting. Until a future reading, friends

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center