Super Moon Lunacy

Touched by the Moon?

Nope, I never believed it, until my world was turned upside down just before the peak of the Hunter's supermoon, the brightest full moon of 2024!
And things just got crazier after that beautiful moon.

full moon unsplash.jpg

Photo by GuzmΓ‘n BarquΓ­n on Unsplash

What we do know for a fact is that the phases of the moon have an effect on sea tides, so naturally all fishermen keenly watch the moon.

20240710_125634.jpg

Farmers of yesteryear did not have the pesticides of today and used to plant by the moon. Many, but not enough farmers, still do this today.

Plants are stronger, hence less pests, and crops more abundant! Aboveground crops should be sowed when the moon is waxing, growing from new moon to full moon. Root crops on the other hand flourish during the waning moon.

carrot potatoes.jpg

tomatoes rosemary.jpg

A Lunar Planting Calendar will also tell you when to sow certain flowers, and even look at the Zodiac signs.
Gardening by the Moon and Zodiac is a nice guide if you would like to learn more.

By now you likely think I'm moonstruck, especially when I tell you that baking and brewing also is affected by the phases of the moon! Baking with yeast is best when the moon is waning. Pastry and cookie dough, on the other hand, is more manageable when the moon the waxing!

All you bakers out there, I know the weather also plays a part, but have you not wondered why your bread rises beautifully, or not, at other times?
20240711_175847~2.jpg

Yep, I experienced all of the above first-hand when I used to subscribe to a monthly 'Plant and Fish by the Moon' Almanac.

Back then we did not have the monkey problem, as our valley was mostly undeveloped, and the monkeys had their own habitat. We could grow vegetables without them raiding our garden, the vegetables were beautiful and pest-free!

There are many other myths and facts about the effect of the moon on our health; like our blood pressure, lunacy, and a woman's monthly cycles.

One sure thing though is that my peace of mind was shattered with the rising of the supermoon!

When I shared my Taxing Week with you, I told you about the disturbing last-minute online booking I had.

I thought I was rid of the pesky 'guest' till I noticed he left an atrocious review despite not having set foot here. I was fuming when booking.com advised that a guest has the right to give a review about the interaction with the host from the time of booking even if they don't take up the accommodation! No one was listening, that is not what he did. This booker simply marked all the boxes with a score of 2.5, and left no feedback!
They removed it after many frustrating messages where someone checked the booking trail. I was fuming, as our review rate has been well over 9 from the time we listed on their site!
All other booking sites only provide a review link after the guest's stay.

And...my gut feeling about the booking proved to be right.

Yesterday I received an email from my channel manager advising the payment had been disputed by a cardholder who happens to have an account from the same bank the booker called from. The bank advised today that they're investigating a case of fraud.

The shadow of the moon will now be cast over Mr. X who nearly drove me to the loony bin!

My October however is like a walk in the park compared to what two of my very good friends have been dealing with!

One is recovering in hospital in isolation with a badly affected lung after contracting the nasty HMPV.

The friend I met up with when in the Netherlands, tragically had to say goodbye to her partner of 28 years after a simple procedure turned into a nightmare. She had to permit the hospital to take him off life support today.

Remember I shared about my younger friend who lost her husband in my 'Taxing Week' post?

Two friends unexpectedly widowed in under a month!

Yes, I can laugh and smile, lose myself cooking up a storm in the kitchen, but that awful missing knocks me out and takes me right back to where it began!

I have to end on a good note! My taxing problem has come to an end; my return was put under a microscope verification process; no change, the taxman owes me, and my 2024 tax year is done and dusted!


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙀𝙧 π™©π™π™š 𝙔𝙀π™ͺπ™£π™œ 𝙖𝙩 π™ƒπ™šπ™–π™§π™©

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center