Hello and Goodbye...Until We Meet Again

Never have I seen the season change almost overnight; yep the seasons they are a-changin', and not waiting for anyone!

I arrived in the Netherlands towards the end of a balmy September. Then about a week ago, almost overnight, the days turned chilly, misty, and cloudy, accompanied by a fine drizzle at times. Before you can blink, it suddenly changes into a sunshiny day, but it's all just tom-foolery as the wind outside already carries an icy bite.

I'll be on my way back home to 'almost summer' where there's been damaging torrential rainfall, but thankfully no damage at home. Soon I will be complaining about the heat and humidity; we're never satisfied now, are we?

My life certainly has changed in a big way since losing the love of my life and having to Step into the Unknown.

Back to the present, when I got the news that my long-time Hive friend @pandamama's kiddos are in Amsterdam, both of them on and off-Hivers, but side-tracked with exciting happenings in RL, I knew we had to meet.
My son @deanoza is the one who introduced me to Steemit Hive, but he hardly did any blogging, and left it to his old Mom!

Utrecht was the venue, at the Oudegracht, the older part of Utrecht with its cobblestone pathways, the canals, and historic buildings.

IMG_20231015_150918.jpg

Meeting @edenmichelle and @leelektrik was just awesome, and we caught up in an old café over steaming hot cappuccinos. Eden bought me a tray of Poffertjies afterward, a delicious Dutch treat of featherlight little pancake puffs. I resisted the tempting Nutella, and went for 'roombotter & kaneelsuiker,' while Eden and her friend chose Nutella.

20231022_135632.jpg

My son's been living halfway between Amsterdam and Utrecht for nine months now; yep a newborn babe in his adopted home country, and he's loving it. Lee is still busy settling into Amsterdam, and EGGSTA, as Eden is known in the music industry as a singer/ songwriter, has hit number one with a couple of her songs on the popular East Coast Radio in Durban, where I come from!

The inspiration behind EGGSTA's song Cheers means a whole lot to me, as I now realize, just how valuable it is to celebrate special moments, whether big or small.
We often take those moments for granted, until we lose them! Don't wait for that to happen!

In the words of EGGSTA:

It’s about raising our glasses to the small achievements, the big ones, the highs and the lows and to celebrating together that we have gotten through some of the toughest times. I hope that no matter the moment, whether it be a date night, braai, engagement or any type of celebration, we can play this song and be reminded that it’s a moment worth celebrating.

20231022_140536.jpg

We walked around a bit, the kiddos got to know each other better and we all were curious to see what it looked like inside the tallest church in the Netherlands, the Gothic Dom Kerk, or St. Martin's Cathedral.

Dom Kerk.jpg

I will tell you more about this beautiful, very very tall church in a later post. My son and I experienced a special moment when we each lit a candle at the memorial chapel in memory of Arthur and were given the opportunity to write in the prayer book. This chapel was dedicated to the victims of a senseless shooting in 2019 where a gunman shot and killed four passengers on a tram.

20231022_143542.jpg

After saying our goodbyes, we left with the hope of seeing each other again sometime in the future.

As my son and I wandered around a bit more, he showed me how close his offices are to the train station. I say 'offices' in plural, as he has both a parent company and a host company.

Mother Hen, that's me, will soon return home with a heart full of gratitude, knowing that my son has the best of both worlds; a wonderful new country, a spacious home in a tranquil leafy neighbourhood, yet close to shops and excellent public transport, plus a fabulous work environment.

So, let us not forget to savour special moments, no matter how big or small, seasons change, and so do we!

(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ Thank You for Reading! ♥

Heart page break.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


Join Hive Thrifted
LOGO FIN.png

𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙏𝙧𝙖𝙞𝙡𝙗𝙡𝙖𝙯𝙚𝙧𝙨

𝙒𝙤𝙪𝙡𝙙 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙣 𝙃𝘽𝘿?
𝘽𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙚 𝙖𝙣 𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙧𝙚𝙥𝙧𝙚𝙣𝙚𝙪𝙧 𝙖𝙩 𝙣𝙤 𝙘𝙤𝙨𝙩
𝙎𝙚𝙡𝙡 𝙮𝙤𝙪𝙧 𝙨𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙣𝙙-𝙝𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙜𝙤𝙤𝙙𝙨, 𝙖𝙧𝙩𝙨 𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙘𝙧𝙖𝙛𝙩𝙨 𝙞𝙣 𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙.


(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ ♥

𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency