My meeting with Silver Bloggers

portada.jpg



Greetings. A few days ago the @silverbloggers community reached its third anniversary, for that reason the friend @lizelle left us the invitation to remember how was our meeting with this beautiful community. Let me tell you...

Six years ago when I started in blockchain I was already over sixty-three years old. At that time I had retired from my usual activities as a teacher, it was a difficult time for me because I had completely suspended my attendance to the classrooms, which produced a big void in my life.

To fill my time I dedicated myself to reading, listening to music, playing a little guitar and walking in the afternoons in the mountains of the sector where I live north of Maracay, a city located in the central part of Venezuela.

Finding the blockchain was like getting a new breath of fresh air. I now had a place where I could freely explore activities that I had not taken seriously such as writing and photography. This represented a positive change that not only gave me back the motivation to do things I liked, but at the same time allowed me to generate income to complete my day to day life.

imagen2-580.jpg

However, I quickly realized that here in the blockchain most of the people were very young, and that reality made me a little afraid. I thought that maybe the generational barriers would hinder my communication and that my way of seeing the world would not be of interest to the new generations living here.

But things went much better than I expected, from the beginning I felt that there was a great climate of respect and that it didn't matter much that I was a little older. However, I was always on the lookout for hivers who were of a certain age, with whom I felt much more comfortable.

That's why I was so happy when I found the Silver Bloggers community, created to give space to people like me who were starting the autumn of their lives.

I don't remember exactly the date when I made my first post here in the community. But I'm sure it was in response to one of the initiatives that were launched weekly.

At first I had many doubts whether to participate or not. My mother tongue is not English, a language I understand a little but I don't have enough command of it to write a text. So I had to use the translator, and we all know that many nuances are lost when going from one language to another. Spanish, which is my native language, has substantial differences with English. But in the end I decided to publish using the translator and I was impressed to realize that with those translations we could understand each other quite well.

imagen3-580.jpg

My confidence to continue posting increased one day when I found a comment from my friend @coquicoin, moderator of the community who also speaks Spanish. With her here I felt more at home.

One of the things I like about the community is the variety of its members. For me it is satisfying to read what friends from other parts of the world write, I love having the opportunity to learn about their cultures. Here I can have contact with people from Asia, North America, South Africa, United Kingdom and other parts of the world, that contact is wonderful for me.

Currently I have maintained the discipline of writing at least one post a week in the community, this has been facilitated by the initiative of my friend @ericvancewalton, who leaves us every week an interesting topic on which to reflect.

As long as I have the strength to continue sharing my publications in this beautiful community. My congratulations for this new anniversary to the members of the team. To the administrators @fionasfavourites, @lizelle, and to my moderator friends, @coquicoin, @tengolotodo and @mondoshawan. To all a big thank you for keeping this site where grandparents like me can make their thoughts known.

Long live Silver Bloggers...!

Thanks for your time.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version).

separador verde.jpg

All your comments are welcome on this site. I will read them with pleasure and dedication.

Until the next delivery. Thank you.


MARCA LIBRO POSTALdef-sombra-m.jpg

The photos, the digital edition and the Gifs are of my authorship.


separador verde.jpg

logohivevenezuela200.png

Logo creado por @themanualbot

separador verde.jpg



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments