A Boat is Made to Sail



"It feels like someone is leaving and it brings out mixed, indescribable emotions," a cousin confessed on Friday evening while we were seated together on the pre-wedding party. She was sharing how she felt when her only daughter (24 y/o) got married in January. I've watched the video where she was trying to control her tears just before they walk their only one down the aisle but she just couldn't, well that included her husband who was also acting cool yet failed to hide his emotions as well.

"But in fact, no one is leaving, you are adding a new member to your family..." I teased rather unmindfully. Deep in my heart, I kind of understand where she was coming from (or maybe not really, how do I know)? I've seen that same painting on my sister's face when her daughter walked down the aisle at a tender age of 20. Yet sighted it too on my parents expressions during my own wedding and I was in my 30s then. Perhaps it's a normal and universal reaction.

"Well, a boat is built to sail, not just to be displayed or parked somewhere..." she continued. I actually didn't catch up what she meant and thought, "why is she suddenly talking about a boat now?"

"We did our best and now that she is heading out to sail, we will just continue to support her all through," she said further. "Aah... right!" My messy mind readily agreed on hearing that.

True enough, just as a boat is built to navigate through waters and not remain stagnant or stationary, we are also meant to do more than just being a child or a parent. And that we need to embrace new experiences, opportunities, challenges and most importantly, changes in life. And for a parent like her - seeing her daughter go on with life and pursuing the things she want, not only with them but also with another person (her husband) and perhaps in a few years time, along with their own kids.

It's amazing, ain't it? The cycle of a parent's life - rearing their children for as long as they can, letting them go when they decide to sail along with the person they choose to be with, and then the cycle repeats through them too.

As for the Farmboy and I, only time will tell if we ever get to experience such.😊 Until then, life goes on :)

Here's to a happy weekend!

Photo is my own. May have shared it in one of my past publication. 26032023/10:30ph



Smile... laugh often... love more... be happy and grateful always!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now