First milestone is looming

First milestone is looming

In this post I provide links to my project page on GitHub for my FMDS2022 project and explain more of what the project is actually all about. This is a short read, as my time is running out before I need to at least have YunoHost installed.

A matter of time

I have really been enjoying my time back on the social blockchain! In fact, I've been enjoying it a little bit too much! 😇 I have spent so much time on the HIVE blockchain since I got here, that my actual intended project on the blockchain has been somewhat ignored by me. I came here to blog about my YunoHost installation project, which I mentioned in my intro-post a few days ago. Since then though, I have spent my time mostly reading and replying to posts and comments here on the social blockchain.

Removing distractions

One thing I achieved though as part of my distraction, and to avoid even more future distraction, is that I have put aside my Splinterlands cards for now, in a quite clever way (if I do say so myself). Rather than having the temptation of playing the game again now that I'm back on the social blockchain, I have delegated my cards out to someone who is using them with a bot. Hopefully this will allow me to earn a bit of passive income while I blog about installing my homelab. My card collection is mostly Alpha and Beta cards, and they are being run from the @hipnose003 account, on a bot that is running the Ultimate Splinterlands Bot V2 by PCJones. I can keep an eye on how it does using the Battlechain in Peakmonsters.

Setting goals for the homelab project

Late last year, as I was preparing for this project, I created a series of milestones, so that my whole project could be guided by the S.M.A.R.T. project management principle. This involves having milestones which are Specific, Measureable, Achieveable, Relevant, and Time-bound. I set up a new project page in GitHub for this, within my FMDS2022 repository. The "FMDS" part of my repo name refers to Frittro's Managed Data Store, which is a personal project of mine that has been evolving over many years. It is my #actuallyautistic way of doing things, of keeping track of my daily life online, including such things as –

  • managing my personal relationships with family and friends
  • managing my collections (music, video, photos, books, ebooks, etc)
  • diet, nutrition, recipes, and weekly meal plans
  • passwords, crypto keys, budgeting / finance, and other sensitive secrets
  • bookmarks, favourites lists

I retain, categorise, tag, and organise all sorts of things in my FMDS system. I use it as an extension of myself, which bridges between my physical existence into my virtual existence. Obviously, a lot of this stuff is highly sensitive, and I would not want anyone unauthorised to get access to much of it. Various previous versions of my FMDS system have used cryptographic hashes, encrypted file systems, and other safety precautions to prevent that from happening. Under FMDS2022, this will be the first time that I will allow myself to even access my FMDS data from outside my home. To achieve this safely, as part of setting up my system, I'll be configuring my own VPN, so that I can tunnel into my home LAN securely.

Time is running out!

My first milestone for this project is looming ever closer, even as I sit and write this blog post. Within just 48 hours I have planned to have YunoHost v4.3.4.2 installed and booting from the USB3.1 flash drive stick, and accessible from within my internal LAN network via the IP address and FQDN. I haven't even started on that yet! I'm going to have to get cracking. I'll let you all know how this stage went, and what I did, and any issues that arose during the install.

Image Credits

  1. post-head.png – Remix created by @frittro, using elements by @pantone801; elements by @schauhi; the Silver Bloggers logo by @mondoshawan; and various "fair use" product images and logos.
  2. maori-divider.png – Original image created by @pantone801. Remix created by @frittro.
  3. Various "fair use" organisation and company logos, including Hive, GitHub, Splinterlands, Peakmonsters, etc.
  4. hourglass.png – Original image created by @fernandozhiminaicela.
  5. frittro-maori-footer.png – Remix created by @frittro, using elements by @pantone801; and the Silver Bloggers logo by @mondoshawan.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center