Getting through - with salad and sunsets

Persimmons aka Sharon fruit

This time, a year ago, The Husband was in hospital. He'd come through surgery with flying colours and we were planning his return home to recuperate and resume life. A year ago, tomorrow is the last time I not only heard his voice, but had an in-person, two way conversation with him.

I am grateful for a weekend of caring friends.

Two of them came to stay for a night and not only did we have a good evening, nattering, but T brought persimmons from her mother's garden.

Fiona will know what to do with them

She said.

IMG_20240429_170855_299.jpg

I made a salad.

The sweet, with a dry aftertaste work well with rocket (arugula) and feta (or chevin) if you have it. I made it for other friends who'd invited me for Sunday afternoon evening.

IMG_20240429_171247_258.jpg

After eating our fill and the children left, S and I sat and watched the sun, talking about The Husband and the last year. I am grateful for the space to be as I both continue to mourn and carve out a new life.

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm still re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?

Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community.


Original artwork: @artywink

I create graphics using partly my own photographs as well as images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now