Friday Files - Marvelous marmalade and things that will be magical

IMG_20220528_054430_350.jpg

Friday was, as usual, a long day in the kitchen. It was day 2 because I had started with the koeksisters and soup on Thursday.
IMG_20220528_070553_161.jpg
That was a deliberate strategy because we had a very special engagement that evening.

I was derailed, though. Trish, who stands next to me at the market, announced in our WhatsApp group that she's not well and won't be there. I had, based on the presumption that she'd be there, decided to omit one item from my usual repertoire. That had to change. Something also said to me, on Thursday, that perhaps I didn't have sufficient stock of another product. Suddenly, my relatively quiet day had two more agenda items.

IMG_20220528_070553_929.jpg

These were my main focus for the day, though: ruby grapefruit. They were delivered by village friends last Sunday. I hadn't expected that many and they stared at me, nestled in their bag for most of the week. until I cleaned them up. Perfect, they were. For a new marmalade.

Of course, with all new things, I'd under estimated the time. Unlike lemon and orange marmalade, grapefruit need different attention. They must be addressed. Thrice.

IMG_20220528_070553_399.jpg

Once to remove the skin.

IMG_20220528_070553_286.jpg

Second to remove the remaining pith which must go in the muslin bag with the pips for the pectin essential to the perfect set.

IMG_20220528_070553_343.jpgAnd, finally, to get the chop

Different from other marmalades, this is a low sugar version, which surprised me. It also took less water.

IMG_20220528_070553_161.jpg

This did enable me to catch up - a bit. It was, however, a little late because as happens with things of this ilk - like with bread - they take as long as they take and I ended up in a time crunch just as I should have been seeing to the lunch.

IMG_20220528_070553_111.jpg

The final result is a darker, somewhat more rosy coloured marmalade. It's tart with a bitter aftertaste. A little like me, some would say...

Then it was hell for leather and into the shower for to celebrate our former neighbour's 80th birthday.
IMG_20220528_055626_574.jpg

It was a wonderful intimate gathering of villagers. The menu - for those interested, I've shared photos on my Instagram - was fabulous. The venue, a local and iconic establishment that's nearing the end of a long overdue revamp. We were the first private party in that almost new space - it's going to be magical. Again, I shared some photos - this time on my Destination McGregor Instagram.

A marvelous Friday.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised applications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking on the logo.

Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center