The Next Decade Is Mine!



The next ten years of my life would be a whole new phase! It would be a transformative and an exciting chapter in my life. From years of being someone's Mom, to being free, with so much time on my hands and trying to figure out what to do with all of it (I still feel really sad sometimes, and lonely too, and would want to come back those ages, when my kids were right here with me…used to read their old school books and cry sometimes).
Though they are adults now and less reliant on me, I still try to meddle sometimes, forgive me, I can't really help it..., especially the deep nostalgic feelings which makes me look forward to our occasional meet-ups.

Now that time has obviously been freed up (though I still have my day job), I also see this next phase as a moment rich with possibilities, allowing me to rediscover myself, pursue other things and explore my passions, which lay dormant during my parenting years. I think that this could be a new opportunity and a new chapter in my life, possibly the best, if I could channel my energy properly doing what I really love doing.

I belong to a church where I have volunteered for various charitable projects, especially their homeless and prison visitation programmes, I have found a sense of purpose doing this and it's something I'm going to be doing in the next decade and beyond. My continued commitment to charitable work, is an incredible way for me to find fulfilment, especially as it aligns with my values.

Again in the next decade, I'm really looking forward to this one, becoming a grandparent and building new bonds with my grandchildren. I always pray I make it long enough, because the prospect of being a grandma someday, fills me with so much excitement. It brings with it the hope of new memories and bonds, which would simply re-echo the warmth and love my own children have received from me.

I hope to build on my hobbies, especially writing because I think that reconnecting with my love for writing would be the best way to pour out my thoughts, experiences, and creativity into something meaningful. I wish to rekindle my passion for storytelling, a part of me that's been underneath all these years.

I hope to focus on my health generally, through regular exercises and good nutrition, because this new phase wouldnt make any sense if I didn't live it in good health. So exercises and good nutrition? Yes!.. for a most fulfilling next decade.

Then falling in love all over again.....

With myself! Lavish love on myself!!
I think it would be the most awesome way to sum up the next decade.

And then having loads and loads of fun. Absolutely! I have been in the doldrums for so long, now is the time to 'dance in the rain', like I did as a child, and indulge in new experiences that makes me feel so alive.

This chapter is mine to shape, this chapter of my next decade, and I seriously pray for wisdom and strength to make the most of it.


Thumbnail


image.png

This is in response to an initiative of @ericvancewalton, to make us walk down memory lane and relive those moments long gone, keeping them alive for our future generations.

Here's the link

In a year from now you’ll have a legitimate memoir that you can pass along to future generations of your family. But what I really hope is it provides a valuable glimpse into your inner self.



Thank you @ericvancewalton for this noble initiative. 😊


I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now