From The Other Side Of The Table!



How did you get your first job??


My answer:


My first job experience was bitter and sweet at the same time, the second time I was exposed to women rivalry.
My first job was waiting tables and bartending at a restaurant. I was 17 years old and had just finished writing my Wassce examinations. The idea of staying at home for about half a year, until I gained admission into the university, was not a palatable one, moreso some of my age mates were picking up these casual jobs, not actually for the money but to kill boredom and experiment on something new.

I wanted to work too, and, of course, my dad put in a good word for me at a locally-owned restaurant and it was done. I got the job!

It was owned by a man who had two wives. On the surface, the restaurant exuded an air of excellence, but there was a war of rivalry raging between his two women. The first wife had an only son, she was a terror, unfriendly, in fact, termagant. While the younger wife had no son, only three daughters, but she was calm and considerate and all the workers loved and preferred her. Both of them always bickered over one thing or the other, call it a battle ground if you must, because that was what it was and I just happened to always be at the middle of the crossfire. Money issues everyday, who should get what at the end of the day. They could not talk to each other civilly and most times, the restaurant owner, their husband, found himself lost in the chaos. He was a quiet and soft spoken man and I just didn't understand how he got involved in that mess of a polygamy. Now that I'm older and understand relationships, I'm able to realize that the first wife never gave him any joy despite the fact that she had given him an heir.

I preferred the younger wife and this didn't go down well with the senior one. I became an enemy of sorts but I was a good staff, trustworthy and efficient, she grudgingly gave me that! My Dad was also a friend of the family so I enjoyed a certain level of immunity.

Mouth-watering dishes, exotic drinks, impeccable customer service( it had to be so or else....) but the strife behind the scenes was horrible. Customers only paid cash at that time and I carried around a money pouch with which to collect all the monies paid in.The younger wife(who was more educated) was responsible for receiving the pouch in order to follow up with proper accounting procedures.

We were given lunch while I was paid every week. It wasn't much but the pleasure of 'making' some money was thrilling!!! I learned quickly. It was fun and hard work being on one's feet most of the day but the tips were good.
Apart from the frequent clashes between the senior wife and I, I did well, I was fine.


The restaurant job taught me a lot of things like tolerance, time management, customer service, accountability and financial responsibility. I was also able to interact with the public and gain exposure. I worked for five months until my results were released and then I had to move on to the next phase of my life.

I really think that I became wiser because it gave me an inkling of things to expect later on in life, along with some other experiences I garnered about life.


This is in response to an initiative of @ericvancewalton, to make us walk down memory lane and relive those moments long gone, keeping them alive for our future generations.

Here's the link

In a year from now you’ll have a legitimate memoir that you can pass along to future generations of your family. But what I really hope is it provides a valuable glimpse into your inner self.


Thumbnail


Thank you @ericvancewalton for this noble initiative. 😊


I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now