Score for Mother Nature


The darkness of night casts a shadow (of truth) however, I am reminded that a shadow is always cast by light.


It was a little more than cold on the water this morning, but, it had been some time since I have gone out in the darkness of night, just to watch the sun come up. Winter sunrises are usually more vibrant, the crisp air gives you more color. This started out very encouraging and fell down in the brilliant reds I had been seeing. Still, in all, a few of us got out, brought coffee, and enjoyed the peace of morning breaking. It is never a bad time on the water. Sea, sand, and salt. Breathe deeply.


IMG_7741.JPG


The last time I came out, it was for a sunset, and it rained. I didn't feel particularly unlucky, I was at the shore house and it was a short run back there to get out of the rain. Instead, I embraced this moment to watch the incredibleness of Mother Nature, showing off, once again. I just love when she does this, and the thing is, you usually don't know when it will come. I got rewarded for my stay and in actuality, this was a double set of rainbows. First of all, I could only get one set, and second of all, the other set disappeared rather quickly.


I have to be honest. The first few minutes, I did nothing but behold its presence. It was magnificent and the colors were vibrant and beautiful. By the time I actually got to take a picture of it, it had been long muted and I almost just let it go, but, then the color started cranking up again. Crazy, right? I don't know how to explain it, but, it made getting wet and cold so very worth it.


IMG_5423 rainbow 2.JPG


When it was over, I didn't even wait for the next show that I came for. I took myself and my soaking wet clothes back to the shore house and took a nice hot shower and wrapped up in a warm robe with woolen socks knit by my grandfather. Don't ask, but, we were just talking about men that knit today. Anyway, he is was a knitter along with others in my family and he knit my socks to keep warm when I was moving to Germany. Actually, he did them all of our lives, but, those were meant for cold weather. He worried about his girls. The boys were on their own.


IMG_7755 3.JPG


Last week we nearing spring weather. I knew it was a fake-out by Mother Nature, she usually punts a few times before she let it go down the way of spring. We have been experiencing high temperatures, enough that some of my flowers were not paying attention to the calendar and began presenting themselves.


I got up Monday morning to cold. Very. I could tell that 24F was making my leaves freeze. These leavea still didn't fall off the tree. Maybe for spring when the new ones push it off? We'll see. But, the frozen wonder of it all is always so beautiful,isn't it. The sun comees out and melts it away.Like magic. Or the warmth of a good hug. Yes. That.


IMG_9000.jpg


These are no longer, but, perhaps tomorrow morning as it is showing great promise of being the coldest night of the season - then it will warm up during the day. I have no right to complain in the middle of February. When I was growing up, it was winter until almost May, or so it seemed. It seems to last longer or that is just the way I remember it. Perhaps it was because I was young or perhaps there is much more to this global warming thing.


IMG_5128-001 TT.JPG


Off to hike in the battlefields to day as I give a nod to #TreeTusday with @Old-Guy-Photos. Feel free to put up a tree or three and I will come visit you too. There are no signs of new life, but there is plenty of life inside this area. Let go, we need a brisk pace to keep us warm! Thanks for coming along and I hope you have an amazing day!


The Civil War era fences. You see them all over Virginia. Have you ever seen this kind of fence where you live?


IMG_5131 TT.JPG


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


roses for valentines.jpg


Flowers. There must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower In case you missed Valentine's Day, these flowers are for you. ❤️

20201121_162447ab denise 2.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center