Autumn Art, Silver Peace Dollar, & Huxley Turns 11 Weeks Old Today

IMG_4839.jpeg

It's Been A While Since I Have Shared My Art With Silver ..

So let’s break that trend today! Autumn is quickly approaching, and here in New Jersey, the trees are just starting to turn. The air is cooler, crisper, and has that unmistakable feeling of fall. I love this time of year.. The colors, the cool breeze, the soft light. I do miss summer’s warmth, but there’s something magical about the way fall transforms the landscape.

IMG_4844.jpeg

A few years ago, I painted a small fall landscape piece using oil paint on hardboard. It’s a tiny painting, measuring around 4" by 6", but it perfectly captures the essence of autumn for me. The centerpiece of the painting is a single maple tree, its leaves ablaze in fiery orange-red hues. The foreground is filled with dry, crispy grass and weeds, and the sky, a soft blue with wisps of cloud, adds a peaceful backdrop.


I am considering cropping the painting a little at the top to fit it to this antique frame I bought.

IMG_4842.jpeg


I really miss painting these small, manageable pieces. This one only took me about an hour to complete, which was a great pace for a quick creative session. The challenge, though, is that it always seems to take longer to prep and clean up than it does to paint! Still, there’s something very satisfying about finishing a painting in one sitting.


Now The Silver ..

IMG_4838.jpeg

In the past I've paired some of my art with pieces from my growing silver collection .. And this fall painting made the perfect backdrop for a new acquisition: a 1923-P Silver Peace Dollar. I picked it up from an online antique dealer for $23, with an extra $3.25 for shipping, making the total $26.25. A great deal in my book! The coin itself contains approximately $25.00 worth of silver based on today’s prices, so I’m happy with the value I received.


Below is a screen shot from Numista.com showing the total minted coins for 1923 based on the mint, and the average value per coin. These values are not always accurate so take them with a rain of salt.

IMG_4830.jpeg


When the coin arrived, I was amazed at the quality. It looks almost AU (About Uncirculated) in grading, with a decent amount of luster and a solid strike. Peace Dollars from 1923 aren’t exactly rare .. Philadelphia minted over 30 million of them! .. But finding one in such good condition for a price like this felt like a win. I made an offer of $20, and they countered with $23, which I gladly accepted. Deals like this don’t come around every day, so I’ll be keeping this seller in mind for future purchases (and a secret too - hehehe).

IMG_4840.jpeg

IMG_4841.jpeg


The Wrap Up ..

For now, this beautiful coin will be joining the stack, adding another .7734 ounces of silver to my collection. It’s exciting to grow both my art and my silver collection side by side .. Each piece telling its own story, but together, reflecting the beauty and history of nature and craftsmanship. Guess I should get busy painting!

What’s next? Perhaps another small painting or another silver deal... maybe both!


Hive text divider.png


Huxley Is Officially In Precious Metals Stacking Training ..

He has developed a strong fondness towards a particular Pirate and that pirates Treasure Chest. He has one piece of 'Fool's Gold' stuffed in that small chest for now, and is very proud of this accomplishment.

He Has SO Much To Learn

IMG_4809.jpeg

He just turned 11 weeks old today! And we all have to start somewhere.

Happy Stacking Fellow Hivers!!!

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center