HiveFest Reflections: Going Dutch

Made it to my next destination, and finally some time for reflections on the few days that were. That being the mighty HiveFest, taking place in the legendary Amsterdam!

hivefest-bagtag-amsterdam.jpeg

I was going to part title these posts Adam in A’dam but considering the url won’t display the apostrophe, then it could suggest an entirely different kind of trip. So HiveFest Reflections will suffice ;)

As mentioned in previous articles and in chit-chat with some of you, I attended one other of these Fests, that being SF2 in Lisbon, 2017. I wrote a number of articles following that extravaganza, so if you’re interested in a quick review, check out this post which has links to all those blogs.

So, I came back. I was disappointed about missing out on Kraków and Bangkok the following years, but you can’t do it all… and what's meant for you won't miss you, I’ve heard it said. By extension, you could say what does miss you wasn't meant for you. And that could be the case in this respect…

hivefest-selfie-amsterdam.jpeg

I had no real interest (or equipment) in the VR stuff for 2 years. Not quite my vibe at this point but perhaps in the future but it’s the real in person event where it’s at for reasons I’ve tried to explain before and many attendees and non-attendees get, whereas a lot of the whingers out there don’t quite understand.

It’s not about whether all the talks were great, or what someone is wearing, or other bizarre observations (watching a livestream is good for some general info but it certainly does not capture a festival in all its glory). These are all important aspects but very much secondary to the whole concept of being with people in real life, gathering around a particular topic or interest, and sharing a common mindset.

A family reunion if you will :)

It’s about all the conversations in between, and between different people of all backgrounds, all interests, and different levels of knowledge in different areas. There’s a level of respect there and a quiet nod that we all have something to offer and if we can manage to get our heads together we can produce special things. Yes, we’re talking about Hive in particular… but this can apply across the board.

volks-hivefest-amsterdam.jpeg

From the moment I walked in the door of the hotel for opening drinks, right up to when I left them again after final drinks late Sunday night, there was a whirlwind of activity and I had acquired more knowledge, and dare I say friends, then I could have hoped for.

I knew what to expect to a degree but you never know quite how it’s going to go down. Each type of these events is a different experience with a unique charm and a set of components that can never be replicated. I wouldn’t want to get drawn into comparisons and you should avoid that too.

There are always differences, and things that may be ‘better’ or ‘worse’ for particular people. But remember, different strokes for different folks - those pros and cons could be the other way around for someone else! The characters in each play are different (with new and recurring faces), and the host city always throws up its own delights and challenges.

adam-amsterdam-building-hivefest.jpeg

That all being said, I had a great time - no complaints and all good memories. I’ll put together a few articles about the nitty-gritty but I just wanted to get something out there now I’m back. I might do it day by day, or like last time where I focus on the talks in one, the social side in another post and the city itself in a separate blog. Then maybe a wrap up, but we’ll see!

Hope you all had a great time (those who attended) and managed to get out of the dreaded Schiphol Airport without too many issues, and back home or onto your next leg of travels. And I hope it interests those who are watching from afar.

I’ve also heard some rumours about next year’s event which could be intriguing, so maybe start saving back the pennies sooner rather than later, especially if you’re on the fence and considering taking the plunge, and really see what it’s all about.

Ciao for now!

Adam
@adambarratt
www.AdamBarratt.com

Related:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency