Hive Open Mic Week #231 | It’s My Party - Lesley Gore (Cover) by @yisusth


A cordial greeting for all in this beautiful global community. For the Hive Open Mic Week #231, we explore the theme: "Africunes", a tribute to our brothers in Africa and the sister musical community of Hive. Today I share my interpretation with my trumpet "It's My Party", a pop genre song popularized by Lesley Gore and composed of Walter Gold, John Gluck Jr., Herb Weiner, and Seymour Gottlieb. The lyrics talk about a young woman who celebrates her birthday and discovers her boyfriend left her for another woman. The melody is cheerful, and repetitive and contrasts with feelings of sadness, disappointment, and anger, but also a determination to move forward. This musical piece is found in the tone with a moderate and constant rhythm. The instrumentation is typical of pop music of the 1960s, with guitar, bass, drums, and keyboards. The first time I listened to it was in the movie "Problem Child" (1990), in one of his iconic scenes where the protagonist goes to a birthday.

Spanish | Español (click here)

Un cordial saludo para todos en esta bella comunidad global. Para el Hive Open Mic Semana #231, exploramos la temática: "Afritunes", un tributo a nuestros hermanos en África y la comunidad musical hermana de Hive. Hoy les comparto mi interpretación con mi trompeta de «It's My Party», una canción de género pop popularizada por Lesley Gore y compuesta por Walter Gold, John Gluck Jr., Herb Weiner y Seymour Gottlieb. La letra habla sobre una joven que celebra su cumpleaños y descubre que su novio la ha dejado por otra mujer. La melodía es alegre, repetitiva y contrasta con sentimientos de tristeza, decepción y enojo, pero también una determinación de seguir adelante. Esta pieza musical se encuentra en la tonalidad de A Mayor con un ritmo moderado y constante. La instrumentación es típica de la música pop de la década de 1960, con guitarra, bajo, batería y teclados. La primera vez que la escuché fue en la película “Mi Pobre Diablillo” (1990), en una de sus escenas icónicas donde el protagonista va a un cumpleaños.

I feel great affection and esteem for the African community and its culture. As a teacher, I have had the opportunity to investigate the different folkloric manifestations of some regions of my country. Cultural and religious syncretism produced by miscegenation have enriched our culture. I love Afro-descendant culture and I consider that one of Mother Africa's great contributions is her music. I remember that as a child I listened to the South African singer Miriam Makeba. One of those songs that I keep in my heart is "Pata Pata", and I remember your presentations in the "Sensational Saturday" program. Thanks to several talented artists from Nigeria and South Africa I have had contact with traditional genres, Afrobeat, and others. I hope you enjoy my ticket this week. God bless you.

Spanish | Español (click here)

Siento gran cariño y estima por la comunidad africana y por su cultura. Como docente, he tenido la oportunidad de investigar las diferentes manifestaciones folclóricas de algunas regiones de mi país. El sincretismo cultural y religioso producido por el mestizaje han enriquecido nuestra cultura. Me encanta la cultura afrodescendiente y considero que uno de los grandes aportes de la madre África es su música. Recuerdo que de niño escuchaba a la cantante sudafricana Miriam Makeba. Una de esas canciones que guardo en mi corazón es “Pata Pata”, y recuerdo sus presentaciones en el programa “Sábado Sensacional”. Gracias a varios artistas talentosos de Nigeria y Sudáfrica he tenido contacto con géneros tradicionales, el Afrobeat y otros. Espero que disfruten mi entrada esta semana. Dios les bendiga.


party_cover.jpg


It’s My Party

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

Nobody knows where my Johnny has gone (Johnny has gone)
But Judy left the same time
Why was he holding her hand
When he's supposed to be mine?

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

Play all my records, keep dancing all night (Dancing all night)
But leave me alone for a while
'Til Johnny's dancing with me
I've got no reason to smile

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you

Judy and Johnny just walked through the door (Walked through the door)
Like a queen with her king
Oh, what a birthday surprise
Judy's wearin' his ring

It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you
Oh-oh, it's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
Cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you
It's my party and I'll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to


Fuentes / Sources

ImagesObtained in Unsplash
Lyrics“It's My Party” by Lesley Gore on Genius
Thumbnail & BannerMade with Adobe Creative Cloud Express
GifsCreated with EZGif
Specific informationThe Current
Original TrackIt's My Party (From "Problem Child")

ezgif.com-gif-maker (11).gif


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments